They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2021
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 19
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Dragging Keyframe Settings

Specific to Premiere Elements version 2021

Dragging Keyframe Settings

Postby petsounds01 » Fri Jan 08, 2021 11:38 am

I see a post by GriffinR titled "Fade Out" asking a very, very similar question, but I want to know if there is a way to drag the keyframe settings along with a clip as it's stretched? GriffinR's post explains how to delete them, but I want to keep the same settings... just move them.

I edit a weekly interview video. I've set up the graphics and made a nice template. Basically, I only have to change the name of the interviewee and save. However, not all video clips are the same length, so I have to move some of the graphics around. Pretty easy, but I noticed that when I drag out a graphic to match the length of a longer video, for example, the keyframes don't move, so the graphics fade out at the original spot. Is there any way to grab the keyframe so the graphic still fades out at the end of the clip? Basically, I want the keyframe to be in the same position at the end of a stretched clip as it was at the end of original clip. Otherwise, I have to delete the keyframe and then use the default fade settings.

I hope this makes sense.
petsounds01
New User
New User
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2020 1:49 pm

Re: Dragging Keyframe Settings

Postby Chuck Engels » Fri Jan 08, 2021 1:34 pm

Yes, you can drag the little keyframe marker. If it is only opacity you can do that right on the timeline.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17952
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Dragging Keyframe Settings

Postby Dave McElderry » Fri Jan 08, 2021 2:20 pm

You can't grab the keyframe marker at the same time that you're making the graphic longer, but you can extend the graphic length and then go back and grab the keyframe marker and drag it out to the end. It takes just few seconds longer, but it's easy to do.
Be yourself; everyone else is taken.

Asus X570-E motherboard; AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 3.8 GHz; 64GB DDR4; GeForce RTX 2060 6GB; 1TB Samsung 970 Pro M.2 SSD
User avatar
Dave McElderry
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4330
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Lost In Middle America

Re: Dragging Keyframe Settings

Postby petsounds01 » Fri Jan 15, 2021 1:24 pm

Okay, today is my first time back to editing since I made the initial post and I can't seem to grab the and drag the keyframe markers. Well, I can drag them individually, but that doesn't help. I need to grab and drag two at a time to preserve the set fade. This week's video is shorter, so I'm going the other way, but I still don't understand how to drag the keyframes together.
petsounds01
New User
New User
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2020 1:49 pm

Re: Dragging Keyframe Settings

Postby Steve Grisetti » Fri Jan 15, 2021 1:59 pm

There are a couple of ways to do this but the easiest is to select the clip on your timeline, open Applied Affects and then click the little stopwatch at the top of the panel to open the Keyframe Controller for Opaciy. You'll then be able to lasso and move the keyframes very easily.

You can see me working with keyframes in the Keyframe Controller in this tutorial. You'll be working with Opacity though rather than Motion keyframes.

3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13729
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Dragging Keyframe Settings

Postby petsounds01 » Wed Jan 20, 2021 11:27 am

This *almost* worked. I'm sure I'm just doing something incorrectly, but when I dragged the keyframe to the right/end of this week's clip, it crossed over into the adjacent clip, meaning the keyframe on the right representing the final fade out point, was just... gone. The fade out line just went right into the next clip.

Also, now I understand what the first two repsonses meant. I didn't know you could lasso grab like that. I was just trying to click and grab and it wasn't working.
petsounds01
New User
New User
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2020 1:49 pm

Re: Dragging Keyframe Settings

Postby Steve Grisetti » Wed Jan 20, 2021 12:13 pm

That shouldn't happen if you're working in the Applied Effects panel's keyframe controller. You can't drag keyframes beyond the end of a clip.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13729
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Dragging Keyframe Settings

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Jan 21, 2021 12:56 pm

Steve Grisetti wrote:That shouldn't happen if you're working in the Applied Effects panel's keyframe controller. You can't drag keyframes beyond the end of a clip.


I think you can if the clip has been trimmed Steve.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17952
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Dragging Keyframe Settings

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Fri Jan 22, 2021 4:44 pm

Chuck Engels wrote:I think you can if the clip has been trimmed Steve.

Ah yes! I remember that now. Change the length of the video clip and leave behind "orphaned" key frames.

In my early days of video edfiting that caused me the odd problem too until I worked it out.
AMD Ryzen 3900x 12C/24T, ASUS x570 mobo, Arctic Liquid Freezer ll 280, Win10 64 bit, 64GB RAM, Radeon RX 570 graphics, Samsung 500GB NVMe 980 PRO (C:), Samsung 970 Evo SSD (D:), LG BD Burner, Dell U2717D Monitor, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4021
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Cheshire, UK


Return to Premiere Elements 2021 (NEW) 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest