They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2021
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 19
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Why does video crop edges when exporting

Specific to Premiere Elements version 2020

Why does video crop edges when exporting

Postby munk Miikael » Tue Oct 20, 2020 3:07 pm

Hi Steve and everyone,

I decided to follow Steve's invitation and join the Muvipix community.

I have picked up some good tips from watching Steve's videos, but now run across a slight problem: when I am editing the video, it is widescreen, but when I export it 1080p, it decreases the size. I add pictures. Why does it do it and how to stop it?

Thanks,
munk Miikael
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
munk Miikael
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2020 2:54 pm

Re: Why does video crop edges when exporting

Postby sidd finch » Tue Oct 20, 2020 3:56 pm

What is the attributes of your source video

Sidd
Vivere memento. – 'Remember to live..'
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5256
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Why does video crop edges when exporting

Postby munk Miikael » Tue Oct 20, 2020 4:09 pm

Source video second picture; exported video first picture:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
munk Miikael
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2020 2:54 pm

Re: Why does video crop edges when exporting

Postby Steve Grisetti » Tue Oct 20, 2020 6:27 pm

When you look under the program's Edit menu, what is listed on the General page under Project Settings?

It might also be helpful to see a more detailed report on your video. It looks like it was ripped from a commercial DVD or disc, and that could add some complication to things. What program did you use to rip this video?

Open your original video in the free download MediaInfo. In MediaInfo, set View to Text and then copy this text and paste it to this forum. Once we know your project settings and the complete specs of your video we'll better be able to help you.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13730
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Why does video crop edges when exporting

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Wed Oct 21, 2020 3:01 am

Just curious, nothing more, but why the change in frame rate? Is there something else going on during the export?
AMD Ryzen 3900x 12C/24T, ASUS x570 mobo, Arctic Liquid Freezer ll 280, Win10 64 bit, 64GB RAM, Radeon RX 570 graphics, Samsung 500GB NVMe 980 PRO (C:), Samsung 970 Evo SSD (D:), LG BD Burner, Dell U2717D Monitor, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4021
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: Why does video crop edges when exporting

Postby sidd finch » Wed Oct 21, 2020 11:42 am

Looks like source is 29.97 and output is 23.97. That could be causing an issue. I agree with Steve. At the very least you might need to use handbrake to get the original clip in the format you want before editing.

Sidd
Vivere memento. – 'Remember to live..'
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5256
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Why does video crop edges when exporting

Postby munk Miikael » Thu Oct 22, 2020 3:37 pm

Thank you very much for the answers! I was guessing that this forum has a greater concentration of bright heads than the official Adobe one. Hopefully the guess is proving right.

It is a video which was filmed at a funeral and sent to me by a friend. I made a little music video of it with various pictures. Maybe the fact that I used pictures with different formats made the video shrink? I will just add the video link to you from Google Drive, so that you can see for yourselves.

I tried changing the project settings in advanced settings to 23.97, did not help.

I downloaded Mediainfo and copy the text it gave about the video file here. I also took screenshots of the Project Settings and Export Settings I used. Thanks a lot!

Video here:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1-04hA5 ... sp=sharing

Mediainfo text - the videoclip I used:

General
Complete name : C:\Users\Lenovo\Desktop\Br. Mikael\Videos\The Last Goodbye to Uncle Terry\Robert Munks begravelse.mp4
Format : MPEG-4
Format profile : Base Media / Version 2
Codec ID : mp42 (isom/mp41/mp42)
File size : 640 MiB
Duration : 4 min 26 s
Overall bit rate mode : Variable
Overall bit rate : 20.2 Mb/s
Movie name : Robert Munks begravelse
Movie_More : Munks begravelse
Encoded date : UTC 2020-10-10 21:39:24
Tagged date : UTC 2020-10-10 21:42:17
thmb : ÿØÿà

Video
ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4
Format settings : CABAC / 2 Ref Frames
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, Reference frames : 2 frames
Format settings, GOP : M=1, N=30
Codec ID : avc1
Codec ID/Info : Advanced Video Coding
Duration : 4 min 26 s
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 20.2 Mb/s
Maximum bit rate : 768 kb/s
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate mode : Constant
Frame rate : 23.976 (24000/1001) FPS
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.406
Stream size : 640 MiB (100%)
Title : Core Media Video
Encoded date : UTC 2020-10-10 21:39:24
Tagged date : UTC 2020-10-10 21:42:17
Color range : Limited
Color primaries : BT.709
Transfer characteristics : BT.709
Matrix coefficients : BT.709
Codec configuration box : avcC

Mediainfo: exported video:

General
Complete name : C:\Users\Lenovo\Desktop\Br. Mikael\Videos\The Last Goodbye to Uncle Terry\The Last Goodbye to Uncle Terry.mp4
Format : MPEG-4
Format profile : Base Media / Version 2
Codec ID : mp42 (mp42/mp41)
File size : 175 MiB
Duration : 4 min 43 s
Overall bit rate mode : Variable
Overall bit rate : 5 175 kb/s
Encoded date : UTC 2020-10-20 19:09:24
Tagged date : UTC 2020-10-20 19:09:27
TIM : 00:00:00:00
TSC : 30000
TSZ : 1001

Video
ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : Main@L4.2
Format settings : CABAC / 2 Ref Frames
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, Reference frames : 2 frames
Format settings, GOP : M=3, N=29
Codec ID : avc1
Codec ID/Info : Advanced Video Coding
Duration : 4 min 43 s
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 5 013 kb/s
Maximum bit rate : 40.0 Mb/s
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate mode : Constant
Frame rate : 29.970 (30000/1001) FPS
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.081
Stream size : 169 MiB (97%)
Language : English
Encoded date : UTC 2020-10-20 19:09:24
Tagged date : UTC 2020-10-20 19:09:24
Codec configuration box : avcC

Audio
ID : 2
Format : AAC LC
Format/Info : Advanced Audio Codec Low Complexity
Codec ID : mp4a-40-2
Duration : 4 min 43 s
Source duration : 4 min 43 s
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 157 kb/s
Maximum bit rate : 253 kb/s
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel layout : L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 kHz
Frame rate : 46.875 FPS (1024 SPF)
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 5.32 MiB (3%)
Source stream size : 5.32 MiB (3%)
Language : English
Encoded date : UTC 2020-10-20 19:09:24
Tagged date : UTC 2020-10-20 19:09:24
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
munk Miikael
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2020 2:54 pm

Re: Why does video crop edges when exporting

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Oct 22, 2020 6:20 pm

The problem is your project settings, which as you can see on screen cap are 640x480, a standard definition 4:3 video format. Your video is 1920x1080, a high definition 16:9 video format.

I'm not sure why your project didn't set up to match your video specs automatically. The program usually does unless there's something non-standard about the clip. And your clip looks pretty standard to me. Is it he first clip you added to your timeline?

Start a new project by selecting the option from the File menu. On the New Project panel, select the option to set your project settings. On the Project Settings screen, select Full AVCHD Stereo. Click OK and start your project. Drop this clip onto that project's timeline and you should get perfect results.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13730
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Why does video crop edges when exporting

Postby munk Miikael » Fri Oct 23, 2020 4:34 pm

Thank you very much, Steve!

I noticed also now that the project settings were 640x480, but don't know why it became so. I tried following your instructions, starting a new project and yes, it worked perfectly. The video came out just the same like in the original. (first picture added here)

But that does not help much now when I already did a lot of work and put a music video together from various clips and pictures with different sizes. Maybe that is what changed the video settings, because the very first clip I placed on the timeline was a picture of the hobbit Bilbo in Rivendell (second picture added here) and then it squeezed the video into this frame also? The resolution of that first picture was 1201x978.

Otherwise in the video I made, the video appeared on the timeline like this (third added picture), with black bars down and up. That would be fine, but when exporting, it makes it even smaller.

I tried simply changing the project settings in the video editor, but 640 and 480 sit tightly on the screen and clicking on them, nothing happens. Can't change it any more. I thought that maybe I could select all the clips in the project and copy it to a new project, but did not work. I could start all over again of course with the proper project settings, but it is too much work, putting all the videos and pictures together again. If there is no way to change what I have already done, then I am prepared just to live with it and try better next time. Now you pointed out the error with the project settings, that was good to know.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
munk Miikael
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2020 2:54 pm

Re: Why does video crop edges when exporting

Postby Steve Grisetti » Fri Oct 23, 2020 8:10 pm

Apparently using a photo as the first clip on your timeline overrode the program's automatic project setting function.

Try this trick. Click on the timeline and press Ctrl+a to select your entire movie. Right-click on the movie and press Ctrl+x to cut the entire movie. This will give you an entirely blank timeline.

Place your a clip from your movie on the timeline. The program should match the movie's project specs. Double-check by looking under the Edit menu and looking at the Project Settings.

If it says 1920x1080, delete this clip, put the playhead at the beginning of the timeline and press Ctrl+v to paste your movie back onto the timeline. Double-check the project settings. Everything should be right now.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13730
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Why does video crop edges when exporting

Postby Chuck Engels » Sat Oct 24, 2020 9:02 am

And make a copy of your project before doing anything so you have a backup just in case you need it :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17952
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Why does video crop edges when exporting

Postby munk Miikael » Sat Oct 24, 2020 12:41 pm

Thank you so very much, Steve! It worked! :TU: It turned out to be a good idea to join this forum. I am very pleased!

And thanks, Chuck, I am always quite scrupulous about backing up everything.

The only issue remaining is that now it made all the text tinier on the screen. But I can go through all the text clips and just add them anew, it's not a big deal, when there is no other way.

Thanks again! You did a good turn not only to me, but to all the people who subscribe to the videos I make. Come to think of, I can let them now that I received help from the muvipix community, maybe someone else would look you up also.

I add the pictures of how it looked now. You can see that on the text edit screen, the text is big like I wanted it, but in the movie it becomes small.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
munk Miikael
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2020 2:54 pm

Re: Why does video crop edges when exporting

Postby munk Miikael » Sat Oct 24, 2020 4:39 pm

OK well, I went through all the texts and copied and inserted them again. Anyways it threw the pictures I had used in the video somewhat out of order when I got the projects settings back to 1080p, so I had to go through and adjust everything again. But now it's done, and I let all my friends now who helped me! \:D/ Thanks guys! :-5 I really appreciate it!

That's how it turned out now, and that's what I posted on FB:

Music video: The Last Goodbye to Uncle Terry/Father Robert
Video from the funeral.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1enp9Nq ... sp=sharing
With the help of muvipix.com community, the video resolution was fixed, in HD.

Thanks a lot!
munk Miikael
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2020 2:54 pm

Re: Why does video crop edges when exporting

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sat Oct 24, 2020 4:56 pm

Looks very nice, munk!

Sorry it was so much trouble. But it will definitely be easier next time!
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13730
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Why does video crop edges when exporting

Postby Chuck Engels » Sun Oct 25, 2020 12:04 pm

Awesome, great work Steve :TU:
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17952
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Next

Return to Premiere Elements 2020 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests