They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

What still image size to fill HD screen?

Discussions about High Definition Television, Blu-Ray, HD DVD and other high definition DVD formats.

What still image size to fill HD screen?

Postby Ron Hunter » Thu Aug 25, 2011 10:00 am

Sorry for the newbie question but I can't make this work.

I have a PRE9 HDV project (1440x1080i) using source footage from HV30 camcorder. The footage looks great (as usual). I created a PSE TIFF image at 1440x1080 to insert in the project as a "slide". Letterboxing is present around the PSE image, but the source HDV footage has no letterboxing.

Next, I resized the PSE image to 2000x1500, then re-rendered the PRE9 project, and there is still letterboxing on left/right of the image when I play the HDV timeline.

What dimensions can I make the PSE image so that no letterboxing will occur when I play the PRE HDV timeline? Or is letterboxing inevitable?

Thanks!
- Ron
Desktop: HPE-580T, i7-950 (3.07GHz), 16GB RAM, Win'7 64-bit Home Premium, PSE12/PRE12, Lightroom 5.
Laptop: MacBook Pro (retina), 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, Final Cut Pro X, Motion 5.
Cameras (in use): Panasonic GH4/Canon HFR400/Canon HV30, GoPro HD Hero2.
User avatar
Ron Hunter
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 953
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 7:13 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: What still image size to fill HD screen?

Postby Ron Hunter » Thu Aug 25, 2011 10:15 am

I may have just found the answer to my own question. Within PRE9 project panel I right-clicked on a PSE image and selected "Interpret Footage". I then selected "HD Anamorphic 1.333" for the aspect ratio, and now there is no letterboxing. The image is stretched though. Any way to correct for the stretching?
Desktop: HPE-580T, i7-950 (3.07GHz), 16GB RAM, Win'7 64-bit Home Premium, PSE12/PRE12, Lightroom 5.
Laptop: MacBook Pro (retina), 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, Final Cut Pro X, Motion 5.
Cameras (in use): Panasonic GH4/Canon HFR400/Canon HV30, GoPro HD Hero2.
User avatar
Ron Hunter
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 953
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 7:13 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: What still image size to fill HD screen?

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Aug 25, 2011 11:19 am

Hi Ron,
Check to see if Scale to Framesize is turned on in the project settings.
If it is turn it off, if it isn't turn it on.

You should also be able to scale the image to fill the screen rather than changing the image formatting using Interpret Footage.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 18135
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: What still image size to fill HD screen?

Postby Ron Hunter » Thu Aug 25, 2011 12:09 pm

Hi Chuck,

Before attempting your suggestions I went back and rescaled the TIFF files to 1440x1080.

Within PRE9, "Scale to Frame Size" was checked in Project Settings, so I unchecked it and confirmed it was deselected by right-clicking on the individual clips on the Timeline. At this point there was no change in how the clip appeared in the Monitor window.

Next I right-clicked the clip within the Project window, selected "Interpret Footage" and went back to Square Pixels. The image in the Monitor went back to letterboxing, but the stretched text was gone.

I know I can change the clip's scale but that will also cause stretching.

It appears there is no way to create a still image on a HDV screen without stretching it. Do I understand this correctly?
Desktop: HPE-580T, i7-950 (3.07GHz), 16GB RAM, Win'7 64-bit Home Premium, PSE12/PRE12, Lightroom 5.
Laptop: MacBook Pro (retina), 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, Final Cut Pro X, Motion 5.
Cameras (in use): Panasonic GH4/Canon HFR400/Canon HV30, GoPro HD Hero2.
User avatar
Ron Hunter
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 953
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 7:13 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: What still image size to fill HD screen?

Postby Ron Hunter » Thu Aug 25, 2011 12:11 pm

Interestingly, I went back to the project and checked/unchecked "Scale to Frame Size" as an experiment. The image in the Monitor window was not changed at all with either setting, even after rendering.
Desktop: HPE-580T, i7-950 (3.07GHz), 16GB RAM, Win'7 64-bit Home Premium, PSE12/PRE12, Lightroom 5.
Laptop: MacBook Pro (retina), 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, Final Cut Pro X, Motion 5.
Cameras (in use): Panasonic GH4/Canon HFR400/Canon HV30, GoPro HD Hero2.
User avatar
Ron Hunter
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 953
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 7:13 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: What still image size to fill HD screen?

Postby Bob » Thu Aug 25, 2011 1:32 pm

Size the photo to 1920x1080 in PSE. If you are going to pan and zoom the still image, size it larger and make sure scale to frame size is not selected.

Your HD project has a frame aspect ratio of 16:9. That corresponds to 1920x1080 square pixels (your photo), or 1440x1080 rectangular pixels with a 1.33 pixel aspect ratio (your HDV project and footage).

When you add the photographic image with square pixels to your video project, PrE will automatically resample the image using rectangular pixels corresponding to the HDV project and it will appear undistorted. Your 1920x1080 photo is the same size as the HDV 1440x1080 video frame.
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5922
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: What still image size to fill HD screen?

Postby Ron Hunter » Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:57 pm

Thanks Bob, that helps a lot. I'll try that and let you know what I find out.
Desktop: HPE-580T, i7-950 (3.07GHz), 16GB RAM, Win'7 64-bit Home Premium, PSE12/PRE12, Lightroom 5.
Laptop: MacBook Pro (retina), 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, Final Cut Pro X, Motion 5.
Cameras (in use): Panasonic GH4/Canon HFR400/Canon HV30, GoPro HD Hero2.
User avatar
Ron Hunter
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 953
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 7:13 pm
Location: North Carolina


Return to Hi Def 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron