They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Is Editing with a 1080p 32-inch from 48 Inches a Good Idea?

Discussions about High Definition Television, Blu-Ray, HD DVD and other high definition DVD formats.

Is Editing with a 1080p 32-inch from 48 Inches a Good Idea?

Postby George Tyndall » Sun May 08, 2011 7:02 pm

Thanks to Bobby, I went out this am and temporarily purchased such a TV. Here's my concern:

I usually edit my slide shows on a 52-inch Samsung from a distance of about 10 feet, which is somewhat beyond the recommended viewing distance of 1.5-2x the diagonal measurement of the TV.

At this moment, I am using the TV described above, and, oh my! I am seeing details in my slide shows that I never saw before, specifically, lots of "dust spots" on both the models and the backgrounds. The 32-inch screen is about 54 inches away.

Because this web page ran off the screen, I needed to allow NVIDIA to reset the image-- to 1832x1022--and I changed the AV setting to Game (Off is too bright, Cinema too dark, Sport still too light).

Question: Given that customers may also be purchasing smaller HDTVs in 1080p rather than 720p as in the past, is it strongly suggested that I begin to use a TV such as this for my HD editing?

:?:
HP h8-1360t Win7 Home Premium 64-bit/Intel i7-3770@3.40GHz/8GB RAM/NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050/LG BH10LS30 Blu-ray RW+SD DVD/CD RW+LightScribe/52" Samsung LCD HDTV (ancient 1080p)/PRE & PSE & ORGANIZER 2018/CS 5.1 & 5.5 (rare use) ::wav::
User avatar
George Tyndall
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 2570
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 12:50 am
Location: Los Angeles, California

Re: Is Editing with a 1080p 32-inch from 48 Inches a Good Id

Postby RJ Johnston » Mon May 09, 2011 1:07 am

I can't believe that you haven't had a 1080p until now. :mlol:

That's not as bad as when I went from a CRT to a LCD 1080p and noticed all the mistakes I made using the CRT.
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3143
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Is Editing with a 1080p 32-inch from 48 Inches a Good Id

Postby George Tyndall » Mon May 09, 2011 8:49 am

RJ Johnston wrote:I can't believe that you haven't had a 1080p until now. :mlol:

That's not as bad as when I went from a CRT to a LCD 1080p and noticed all the mistakes I made using the CRT.


The Samsung is 1080p--but 10 feet away.

The LG 1080p is about 4 feet away.

:shock:
HP h8-1360t Win7 Home Premium 64-bit/Intel i7-3770@3.40GHz/8GB RAM/NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050/LG BH10LS30 Blu-ray RW+SD DVD/CD RW+LightScribe/52" Samsung LCD HDTV (ancient 1080p)/PRE & PSE & ORGANIZER 2018/CS 5.1 & 5.5 (rare use) ::wav::
User avatar
George Tyndall
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 2570
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 12:50 am
Location: Los Angeles, California

Re: Is Editing with a 1080p 32-inch from 48 Inches a Good Id

Postby Bobby » Tue May 10, 2011 12:11 pm

George, those AV settings are only presets for those unwilling to play around. You should find where the manual or custom settings are and get yourself a good BD/DVD alignment disc to set them up. I have played for hours with my settings getting them the way I want.

As far as resolution goes, I would concentrate on the webpage creation tool and ensure that it supports a fairly standard screen size such as 1280x1024. If it fits on your monitor at that resolution it should fit others too. Resize the images if needed.

As far as blems go, that is always an issue. You may need to check your camera sensor for dust and may have to look into blem removal software tools. Ah, the price we pay for high resolution. As I told in a previous story many months ago, my wife would not let me do HD closeups of her.
Bobby (Bob Seidel)
User avatar
Bobby
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 3183
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 10:41 pm
Location: At the beach in NC

Re: Is Editing with a 1080p 32-inch from 48 Inches a Good Id

Postby George Tyndall » Tue May 10, 2011 3:51 pm

Bobby wrote:As far as blems go, that is always an issue. You may need to check your camera sensor for dust and may have to look into blem removal software tools.


To check the sensor, would I, one of the world's most accomplished klutzes, need to disassemble the camera? Then what?

What is blem removal software? I already have Portrait Professional and am very happy with its ability to smooth the skin.

My remaining problem consists of tiny white spots, mostly on my black background but also, occasionally, on my models. Could those be dead camera pixels? Or just dust on the sensor?

:?:
HP h8-1360t Win7 Home Premium 64-bit/Intel i7-3770@3.40GHz/8GB RAM/NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050/LG BH10LS30 Blu-ray RW+SD DVD/CD RW+LightScribe/52" Samsung LCD HDTV (ancient 1080p)/PRE & PSE & ORGANIZER 2018/CS 5.1 & 5.5 (rare use) ::wav::
User avatar
George Tyndall
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 2570
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 12:50 am
Location: Los Angeles, California

Re: Is Editing with a 1080p 32-inch from 48 Inches a Good Id

Postby Chuck Engels » Tue May 10, 2011 5:46 pm

George I have seen those white spots with a couple of my digital cameras. Always seemed to have something to do with bright lights, like sunlight or flash. Seemed that the flash would cause it more and it didn't cause the problem on every image, some worse than others. I think it is an issue with the camera or maybe a low battery? Not really sure and I never have figured out exactly what is causing this. It doesn't happen anymore with my new camera.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 18135
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Is Editing with a 1080p 32-inch from 48 Inches a Good Id

Postby Bobby » Wed May 11, 2011 7:49 am

If your camera doesn't have automatic dust removal, then it is best left to a professional. You may want to think about dust sources, how you carry your equipment (in a ten year old dusty bag?) and how you change lenses (in a dust storm?).

Take a couple of photos of a clear sky at widest apperture and see if you see spots then. If you see spots in the same place it is probably dust on the sensor.

I assume you clean your lenses frequently and carefully, front and back.
Bobby (Bob Seidel)
User avatar
Bobby
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 3183
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 10:41 pm
Location: At the beach in NC


Return to Hi Def 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest