They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Managing all your footage?

Discussions about High Definition Television, Blu-Ray, HD DVD and other high definition DVD formats.

Managing all your footage?

Postby csgaraglino » Sun Jan 30, 2011 11:46 am

What are you guys using to manage all the footage you have shot over the past xxx years?
How do you catalog your clips so that you can find them again for different projects?

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
Warm regards,
Chris Sgaraglino
Outdoor Studios On Web || On Flickr || On Vimeo
User avatar
csgaraglino
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:38 pm
Location: Yoder, CO

Re: Managing all your footage?

Postby JohnnyO » Sun Jan 30, 2011 11:50 am

For me nothing fancy at all. I copy them to DVD and keep them in a safe place. The DVDs are sorted by date and also have the video project that they are in labeled in the DVD. . My clips are AVCHD-Lite.

In the past when I used mini-DV - I just kept the tapes sorted by date.
JohnnyO
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 914
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 2:41 pm
Location: New Jersey

Re: Managing all your footage?

Postby csgaraglino » Sun Jan 30, 2011 11:59 am

I'm actually looking for a mo granular catalog.

For example, I shot a week up in the mountains and I have 536 clips that did not go into the final project, but containg footage that will defiantly bee good for other projects. But in six months, after a coule of other projects are complete, remembering what's theis not all that simple?

How do you / I catalog, tag and manage all these assets?

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
Warm regards,
Chris Sgaraglino
Outdoor Studios On Web || On Flickr || On Vimeo
User avatar
csgaraglino
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:38 pm
Location: Yoder, CO

Re: Managing all your footage?

Postby Chuck Engels » Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:47 pm

I use Adobe Bridge and lots of folders on a whole lot of external drives as backups.
One primary drive that I use to store all of my video clips, another for still images.
All of the clips and images are tagged using Bridge, it keeps things nice and neat and organized :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 18135
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Managing all your footage?

Postby George Tyndall » Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:49 pm

csgaraglino wrote:How do you / I catalog, tag and manage all these assets?


An important reason that I stuck with PRE/PSE7 is that the Organizer is not shared between the two programs like it is with the later versions. One can have multiple PSE7 catalogs without a problem. The PRE7 catalog does not function nearly as well.

My preference is not to mix my clips with my stills. I have a PSE7 catalog for just clips and a number of other PSE7 catalogs for my stills. The PSE7 Organizer is a fabulous software for one who wishes to "catalog, tag and manage" one's assets. To play the asset, simply right-click on it and click Play.

:hat:
HP h8-1360t Win7 Home Premium 64-bit/Intel i7-3770@3.40GHz/8GB RAM/NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050/LG BH10LS30 Blu-ray RW+SD DVD/CD RW+LightScribe/52" Samsung LCD HDTV (ancient 1080p)/PRE & PSE & ORGANIZER 2018/CS 5.1 & 5.5 (rare use) ::wav::
User avatar
George Tyndall
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 2570
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 12:50 am
Location: Los Angeles, California

Re: Managing all your footage?

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:31 pm

Chuck Engels wrote:I use Adobe Bridge and lots of folders

Ditto. I also archive all completed VIDEO-TS files (or BDMV/CERTIFICATE) files so that I can always reproduce in the future any DVDs/BDs that I have created.
AMD Ryzen 3900x 12C/24T, ASUS x570 mobo, Arctic Liquid Freezer ll 280, Win11 64 bit, 64GB RAM, Radeon RX 570 graphics, Samsung 500GB NVMe 980 PRO (C:), Samsung 970 Evo SSD (D:), Dell U2717D Monitor, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4222
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: Managing all your footage?

Postby Rockdoc » Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:51 pm

Any recommendations for moving from the Elements Organizers to Bridge? :-k
Jennifer
Currently the owner of an embarrassingly slow system, hoping that will change!
User avatar
Rockdoc
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 4:28 pm
Location: Maryland

Re: Managing all your footage?

Postby csgaraglino » Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:59 pm

I dnt know about Orginazer yet, but Bridge nor anBridge like (file manager) can handle 16gb photo shoot, much less a 150gb video shoot.

Video and film have been around for a very ling time, somebody has to have a way of cataloging tuis data?

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
Warm regards,
Chris Sgaraglino
Outdoor Studios On Web || On Flickr || On Vimeo
User avatar
csgaraglino
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:38 pm
Location: Yoder, CO

Re: Managing all your footage?

Postby Chuck Engels » Sun Jan 30, 2011 7:15 pm

Have you looked at Adobe Bridge yet? I have many TB of data cataloged in Bridge.

But there are other professional media cataloging applications, they can be very expensive.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 18135
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Managing all your footage?

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:52 am

Rockdoc wrote:Any recommendations for moving from the Elements Organizers to Bridge?

Sorry Jennifer, can't help with this question as I have never used the organiser.
PS. Like your sig.... :lol:
AMD Ryzen 3900x 12C/24T, ASUS x570 mobo, Arctic Liquid Freezer ll 280, Win11 64 bit, 64GB RAM, Radeon RX 570 graphics, Samsung 500GB NVMe 980 PRO (C:), Samsung 970 Evo SSD (D:), Dell U2717D Monitor, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4222
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: Managing all your footage?

Postby Chuck Engels » Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:58 am

There is no simple way to move from the Organizer to Bridge Jennifer, sorry to say.
Here is a way to add all of the data to your images so that when they get added to Bridge all of your tags and other info will be there already

http://graphicssoft.about.com/od/pselem ... ntomac.htm

It seems that the MAC version of Premiere Elements comes with Bridge and not the Organizer.
Maybe someday Adobe will do that for the PC version and create a way to easily move from one to the other.

There is also a way to use the Organizer with the Pro products instead of Bridge
http://thedailyreviewer.com/design/view ... -105117944

I have also heard people recommend Thumbs Plus Pro for cataloging your media files
http://www.cerious.com/thumbnails.shtml
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 18135
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA


Return to Hi Def 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest