They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2020
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to Vegas Movie Studio Platinum 17
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Editing with different frame rates

Specific to Premiere Elements version 2018

Editing with different frame rates

Postby John Walker » Tue Apr 28, 2020 10:05 am

I have been given some 1080 footage to edit into one project. Some recorded at 60fps and the rest at 50 fps. Original audio won't be used.

What are the best settings to use etc?
[1] Sony RX100 M6 (PAL)
[2] Panasonic HC-X920 (PAL)
Software:
Elements 2018
Sonicfire Pro 6.0
Intel i5 3.5 Ghz
Gigabyte Z97X-UD3H
C: 500Gb SSD, 2 x 1Tb internal SATA drives, 3 x 2Tb Back Up Drives
32 Gb Ram
Radeon HD5450 1Gb
Based in Canterbury, UK
User avatar
John Walker
muvipix Subscriber
muvipix Subscriber
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 1:38 pm

Re: Editing with different frame rates

Postby Chuck Engels » Tue Apr 28, 2020 10:58 am

I think that I would export each as a standard MP4 and then edit those in a single project. The difference of 10 fps is probably not much and might not be noticeable but that's what I would do.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17853
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Editing with different frame rates

Postby John Walker » Tue Apr 28, 2020 3:31 pm

Chuck Engels wrote:I think that I would export each as a standard MP4 and then edit those in a single project. The difference of 10 fps is probably not much and might not be noticeable but that's what I would do.



Thank you chuck :TU:
[1] Sony RX100 M6 (PAL)
[2] Panasonic HC-X920 (PAL)
Software:
Elements 2018
Sonicfire Pro 6.0
Intel i5 3.5 Ghz
Gigabyte Z97X-UD3H
C: 500Gb SSD, 2 x 1Tb internal SATA drives, 3 x 2Tb Back Up Drives
32 Gb Ram
Radeon HD5450 1Gb
Based in Canterbury, UK
User avatar
John Walker
muvipix Subscriber
muvipix Subscriber
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 1:38 pm

Re: Editing with different frame rates

Postby sidd finch » Tue Apr 28, 2020 6:09 pm

You might consider using Handbrake to convert the 50fps to 60fps. Then edit

Sidd
Vivere memento. – 'Remember to live..'
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Editing with different frame rates

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Tue Apr 28, 2020 11:04 pm

sidd finch wrote:You might consider using Handbrake to convert the 50fps to 60fps. Then edit

+1 But if I did it this way I would reduce the frame rate on the 60fps video (so "throwing frames away") rather than increase the frame rate on the 50fps clip (so "creating extra frames").
AMD Ryzen 3900x 12 cores/24 threads, ASUS x570 mobo, Win10 64 bit, 64GB RAM, Radeon RX 570 graphics, Samsung 500GB NVME 970 Evo SSD, LG BD Burner, Dell U2717D Monitor, Sony HVR-A1, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3972
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: Editing with different frame rates

Postby Chuck Engels » Wed Apr 29, 2020 4:48 pm

All great options, mine would reduce the frame rate to probably 30fps in the MP4. Handbrake is an excellent option for converting files. I would agree with John to decrease the frame rate on the 60fps rather than increase the rate on the 50fps (sorry Sidd).
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17853
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Editing with different frame rates

Postby John Walker » Thu Apr 30, 2020 3:39 am

Thanks everyone,

I have fewer 60fps clips so I'll go the Handbrake route and reduce those files to 50fps. Never used Handbrake before, so another learning curve in sight. I hope it's easy to understand :ha:

Regards

John
[1] Sony RX100 M6 (PAL)
[2] Panasonic HC-X920 (PAL)
Software:
Elements 2018
Sonicfire Pro 6.0
Intel i5 3.5 Ghz
Gigabyte Z97X-UD3H
C: 500Gb SSD, 2 x 1Tb internal SATA drives, 3 x 2Tb Back Up Drives
32 Gb Ram
Radeon HD5450 1Gb
Based in Canterbury, UK
User avatar
John Walker
muvipix Subscriber
muvipix Subscriber
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 1:38 pm

Re: Editing with different frame rates

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Apr 30, 2020 6:55 am

Handbrake is so easy to use. But here are the basics.

3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13395
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Editing with different frame rates

Postby John Walker » Thu Apr 30, 2020 8:22 am

Superb Steve. Excellent presentation as always. So easy to follow and will save me a lot of time starting with Handbrake.

Just one question (isn't there always :fg: ) Can I select a batch of files that require the same settings?

Regards

John
[1] Sony RX100 M6 (PAL)
[2] Panasonic HC-X920 (PAL)
Software:
Elements 2018
Sonicfire Pro 6.0
Intel i5 3.5 Ghz
Gigabyte Z97X-UD3H
C: 500Gb SSD, 2 x 1Tb internal SATA drives, 3 x 2Tb Back Up Drives
32 Gb Ram
Radeon HD5450 1Gb
Based in Canterbury, UK
User avatar
John Walker
muvipix Subscriber
muvipix Subscriber
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 1:38 pm

Re: Editing with different frame rates

Postby Steve Grisetti » Fri May 01, 2020 6:58 am

Yes, Handbrake has a batch feature. But for some reason when I've tried it it's omitted some files from the batch.

But maybe they've fixed it. It's worth trying.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13395
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin


Return to PRE version 2018 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest