They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2021
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 19
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Widescreen

Specific to Premiere Elements version 2018

Widescreen

Postby Ric » Mon Mar 02, 2020 9:43 pm

When I started putting my video together today it went to the normal screen settings. What I mean by that is I want it to go to the widescreen setting that is what most TV are now. I didn't change anything that I know of but can't figure out how to get it back to the way it was. Does anything have any ideas I must of hit something and I don't want the black sides in the normal version.

Ric
User avatar
Ric
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Manchester, MO.

Re: Widescreen

Postby Steve Grisetti » Mon Mar 02, 2020 9:52 pm

I don't know of any way to change the aspect ratio partway through a project, Ric.

Did the video frame itself actually change or does your video just look squeezed?

If you look under the Edit ment, what is listed on the General page under Project Settings?
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13717
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Widescreen

Postby Ric » Mon Mar 02, 2020 10:10 pm

Frame size 720 Horizonal 480

It didn't do it in the middle of putting the video together. I did a video a few weeks ago and it was widescreen and when I started this one the media screen in the program looks smaller. Should I change it to another setting?

Ric
User avatar
Ric
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Manchester, MO.

Re: Widescreen

Postby Ric » Mon Mar 02, 2020 10:17 pm

Can the setting be changed after I started working on the project I'm 10 minutes into it already or do I have to start over?
User avatar
Ric
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Manchester, MO.

Re: Widescreen

Postby Ric » Mon Mar 02, 2020 10:35 pm

How can I change the editing mode? I think that is what got changed. Is there a standard widescreen setting?

Ric
User avatar
Ric
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Manchester, MO.

Re: Widescreen

Postby Ric » Mon Mar 02, 2020 11:01 pm

I found out what changed it was the AVCHD setting. What setting should it be at to have the widescreen format. One says Full HD 1080i 30 and the other just says 1080i 30is there a difference?
User avatar
Ric
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Manchester, MO.

Re: Widescreen

Postby Steve Grisetti » Tue Mar 03, 2020 8:01 am

What is the resolution and frame rate of the video you're editing? What format is it?

Unfortunately, you can't change a project's settings once you've started editing in Premiere Elements. At least technically you can't.

I have heard of people opening the .prel project file in a program like Notepad and manually changing it -- but that comes with a certain amount of risk, so it's up to you if you want to do that.

Again, I'm not sure how your project settings changed. There's not a way to do this mid-project. So I'm not entirely clear why this happened.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13717
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Widescreen

Postby sidd finch » Tue Mar 03, 2020 11:26 am

you might try to right click on one of your video files and see what the size of the video is just to be sure.

My understanding is that the program will automatically recommend what project size to use regardless of the settings you selected. That way the project attempts to match the resolution of the clips to the project.

Sidd
Vivere memento. – 'Remember to live..'
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5232
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace


Return to PRE version 2018 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest