They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2019
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

ISO Burn :Indexing"

Specific to Premiere Elements version 15

ISO Burn :Indexing"

Postby kenskopp » Fri Nov 17, 2017 1:27 pm

Hello,

When I attempted to burn an ISO file with PRE15, I got the window saying "indexing". I walked away and after 10 minutes it still said the same. I made up a PRE15 project with photos and videos from my Nikon 3100 SLR camera. The project is 1hr 14m long. Two days ago I burned ISO file and burned a DVD with no problem DVD had 4.35 gb of data. I made a few minor changes and now I cannot burn to ISO file.

What is program trying to do?

Thanks,

Ken Skopp
Intel Core i7-4770 (3.4GHz, 8MB Shared Cache), Windows 10, Two - 2 1-TB internal hard drives (C) and (E) and 1 3TB internal drive (F), 2GB Nvidia GeForce GT720, 16GB DDR3-1600MHz, 16GB mSATA SSD Cache, Two External Hard Drives: 3TB (K) and 1TB (H).
kenskopp
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:14 pm
Location: Jenison, MI (Outside Grand Rapids, MI)

Re: ISO Burn :Indexing"

Postby Bob » Fri Nov 17, 2017 3:29 pm

Indexing is a process whereby Premiere Elements creates a temporary file in the media cache to prepare for frame accurate editing and preview of video such as mpeg which is not inherently frame accurate due to the compression technique used to encode it.

It's not clear to me why you would get this message at burn time. Premiere Elements does create new temp files as part of the DVD creation process and the DVD structure uses it's own indexing. But, that's a different process. Do you get any unusual messages when the project is opened?

Check that the drive(s) where your ISO and media cache Is located has adequate free space. You might also try clearing the media cache and let Premiere rebuild all the temp cache files. Check that there are no missing files and that you haven't inadvertently introduced gaps in the timeline.
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5847
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: ISO Burn :Indexing"

Postby kenskopp » Fri Nov 17, 2017 4:09 pm

Hi Bob,
Before project will open in PRE15, I get window asking to locate 8 missing photos. I selected skip all and project opened. I checked project assets and those photos were not in asset panel. Window message is "where is the file 'rendered......'" The 9 files are video clips.

Ken Skopp
Intel Core i7-4770 (3.4GHz, 8MB Shared Cache), Windows 10, Two - 2 1-TB internal hard drives (C) and (E) and 1 3TB internal drive (F), 2GB Nvidia GeForce GT720, 16GB DDR3-1600MHz, 16GB mSATA SSD Cache, Two External Hard Drives: 3TB (K) and 1TB (H).
kenskopp
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:14 pm
Location: Jenison, MI (Outside Grand Rapids, MI)

Re: ISO Burn :Indexing"

Postby Bob » Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:10 am

Hi Ken,

I have heard of the problem you describe occurring when there were missing files. I assumed that if you had gotten the message to locate missing files you would have located them rather than skip them. You need to resolve why the project is wanting them. Even if they aren't listed in the assets panel, the project clearly thinks they are needed. Also, check the timeline to see if you have any red thumbnails (which indicates a clip is offline or unavailable).

I don't have Premiere Elements installed anymore, so I can't try to replicate the problem.
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5847
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: ISO Burn :Indexing"

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sat Nov 18, 2017 9:19 am

Note that the program is asking where the "rendered" files are.

Rendered files are previews you create as you edit.

You'll find them in sub-folder (with the name of your project) inside a folder called Adobe Premiere Elements Video Files (or Adobe Premiere Elements Preview Files). This folder will be in the same directory folder as your .prel project file.

You must have moved something around, Ken, or renamed a directory. The program usually doesn't lose track of preview files or other assets.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13020
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: ISO Burn :Indexing"

Postby kenskopp » Sat Nov 18, 2017 11:28 am

Hello Steve,

I am ready to start the project from scratch. When window with "where are rendered files" appears, there seems to be no choice to actually find the missing files. There are options to "skip' "skip all" "offline" "offline all". I know the folder location of the 17 video clips. I experimented making a video story with the 17 video clips. I cannot find any reference to the video story in the project asset panel. Where would the rendered files be for the video story? I tried importing Video story into organizer but got 'not supported message.

Ken
Intel Core i7-4770 (3.4GHz, 8MB Shared Cache), Windows 10, Two - 2 1-TB internal hard drives (C) and (E) and 1 3TB internal drive (F), 2GB Nvidia GeForce GT720, 16GB DDR3-1600MHz, 16GB mSATA SSD Cache, Two External Hard Drives: 3TB (K) and 1TB (H).
kenskopp
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:14 pm
Location: Jenison, MI (Outside Grand Rapids, MI)

Re: ISO Burn :Indexing"

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sat Nov 18, 2017 3:34 pm

I'm not sure what you mean when you say that the Where are missing files? screen doesn't give you the option to browse to the missing files.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13020
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: ISO Burn :Indexing"

Postby kenskopp » Sat Nov 18, 2017 7:50 pm

Hello Steve,

Thank you for your input. I have deleted the project and restarted from scratch. I made another wonderful DVD for my grandchildren.

Ken Skopp
Intel Core i7-4770 (3.4GHz, 8MB Shared Cache), Windows 10, Two - 2 1-TB internal hard drives (C) and (E) and 1 3TB internal drive (F), 2GB Nvidia GeForce GT720, 16GB DDR3-1600MHz, 16GB mSATA SSD Cache, Two External Hard Drives: 3TB (K) and 1TB (H).
kenskopp
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:14 pm
Location: Jenison, MI (Outside Grand Rapids, MI)

Re: ISO Burn :Indexing"

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sun Nov 19, 2017 8:18 am

Great news, Ken!
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13020
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: ISO Burn :Indexing"

Postby Chuck Engels » Tue Nov 21, 2017 10:54 pm

:TU:
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17644
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA


Return to PRE Version 15 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron