They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Different video sources

Specific to Premiere Elements version 15

Different video sources

Postby shellhen » Fri Sep 15, 2017 4:51 am

Hello,

I have your book but I can't find the information I need. I am a total newbie and I am trying to edit video from 2 different sources. I read that Premiere Elements sets the project settings from the first video added to the timeline. However both are different, one was recorded on an iphone at 1080p/30fps and the other on a dslr camera at 720p/60fps. I had to convert the iphone video to MP4 as the audio was out of sync part way through, this seems to have fixed that issue. The other file from the camera is a MOV file. What settings would be best for this project?

Thanks for your help!
shellhen
New User
New User

Re: Different video sources

Postby Steve Grisetti » Fri Sep 15, 2017 7:13 am

You should be able to combine the two in the same project.

But if you converted your iPhone video, you may be opening a new can of worms. How did you convert the video and what did you convert the video to? And, if you've converted the 1080p video, why not convert it to 720p60 so that it's got the same specs as your DSLR video?

The video converter I prefer and recommend the most is Handbrake. It's free and it's fairly simple to use. It can also be used to convert videos with variable frame rates to constant frame rates, resolving the most common cause of out of sync issues.

But before we get into what you should do, we need to know what you did do -- and maybe undo it. We don't want to go adding unnecessary variables to this equation.
HP Envy with 2.9/4.4 ghz i7-10700 and 16 gig of RAM running Windows 11 Pro
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator

Postby shellhen » Fri Sep 15, 2017 7:32 am

Hi Steve,