They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Videos taken with iPhone show incorrect date/time taken

Specific to Premiere Elements version 15

Postby HammerKing » Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:06 am

Hi all,

I'm a newbie here, so appreciate your patience.

I've just bought PSE15, setup my catalog & thought everything was going swimmingly well. However, that was until I discovered a problem with PRE15 not showing the correct date & time all videos were taken (iPhone videos only).

The result is the same irrespective of whether I:
a) use the PRE import function & select the file from file structure on Macbook
b) export video from Mac Photos to folder created in PRE Organizer
c) export video from Mac Photos using the 'unmodified original exporting IPTC as XMP'
d) export to Onedrive & then import into PRE
e) export using iExplorer (a 3rd party app I used to see what date/time it was reading (the correct one) purely for file export testing purposes

Apples default file format is .MOV (PRE friendly), but PRE puts a date/time taken stamp on it which is either:
1) the date of file transfer/import/export (DATE CREATED)
2) a day or 2 days later (DATE MODIFIED) yet the file has never been modified

Obviously I don't know why this is happening & I have raised a case with Adobe PRE support team (today), who now have all the evidence they need to escalate to their engineering team, but I am currently still baffled.

Does anyone here have experience of this issue & how to overcome it? I really don't want to spend hours/days that I don't have manually adjusting the date/time of every video.

Thanks for reading
:tx:

mac OS Sonoma 14.2.1 on MacBook Pro (Apple M1 Max)
Elements Organizer 22 version 20.0
HammerKing
New User
New User

Re: Videos taken with iPhone showing incorrect date/time sta