They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2020
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to Cyberlink PowerDirector 18
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Correction of Shaky Video with CMOS Issues

MUsic / VIdeo / PIX related, plugins, filters, must have tools.

Correction of Shaky Video with CMOS Issues

Postby RJ Johnston » Wed Jan 21, 2015 1:50 pm

Good day to all.

I came across a video clip of mine that I took of the inside of a Chevy Volt on display at a fair. The video camera is a Kodak Zi10 and shot with a resolution of 1920x1080p30. The video is very shaky (actually I was very shaky) and had severe CMOS problems. Mercalli V3 SAL couldn't fix the CMOS issues. Using the new Mercalli V4 SAL+, the shake and CMOS problems were fixed using "Universal" with "Intense" CMOS correction settings. Here are links to the video files, one is a comparison of source to final, another is just the final, and the third is the source. These are all downloadable from Dropbox, and they should be played in full screen to fully appreciate the results.

Comparison

Final

Source

Since Mercalli V4 SAL+ first came out, there have been a few updates. Mercalli doesn't send out notifications about these.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3072
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Correction of Shaky Video with CMOS Issues

Postby Steve Grisetti » Wed Jan 21, 2015 5:10 pm

That's amazing, Robert! The results are terrific!

I'm actually surprised that, at 30p, you got so little blurring from all that jiggling.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13269
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Correction of Shaky Video with CMOS Issues

Postby RJ Johnston » Wed Jan 21, 2015 9:07 pm

Hi Steve,

And if you use the highest Intensity setting (6 checkmarks), some video that looks blurred from panning actually looks pretty good after correction, except it takes a long time to process on my computer so I just go with one checkmark.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3072
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Correction of Shaky Video with CMOS Issues

Postby Kent Frost » Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:59 am

Steve Grisetti wrote:I'm actually surprised that, at 30p, you got so little blurring from all that jiggling.

As long as there's enough light, the shutter speed will go high enough to stop motion.
Dell Studio XPS 8100, Intel Core i7 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 64-Bit Win7. Camera gear: 2x Canon 550D's, 1x Canon EOS 6D body, Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 & 17-50mm f2.8, Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 & 24-70mm f/2.8L, and two 420EX flashes.
User avatar
Kent Frost
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 2:48 pm

Re: Correction of Shaky Video with CMOS Issues

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Jan 22, 2015 8:11 am

That makes sense. Thanks, Kent!
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13269
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Correction of Shaky Video with CMOS Issues

Postby RJ Johnston » Thu Jan 22, 2015 9:03 pm

Here's one more comparison of a video corrected with Mercalli V4. I used the highest "Intensity" setting -- 6 checkmarks -- and let it run overnight. The video was taken by my mother with a Kodak Zi8 with 1920x1080p30 resolution. She just got the camera as a gift. Later she went walking and came upon a family of geese. She held the camera in one hand while walking behind the geese on their way to a pond. She was disappointed how the video came out when we viewed it on the TV screen. I could never get a decent stabilized-looking video with any product I had until Mercalli V4.

On Dropbox: Comparison
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3072
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Correction of Shaky Video with CMOS Issues

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Jan 22, 2015 9:34 pm

Wow, that is really amazing RJ. Do you know how many hours it ran to stabilize the 2 minute video?
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17787
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Correction of Shaky Video with CMOS Issues

Postby RJ Johnston » Thu Jan 22, 2015 9:49 pm

Hi Chuck,

I don't know for sure how long it took, but more than 2 hours. I could have used less "checkmarks" and gotten very similar results in a lot less time. Without CMOS corrections, the whole thing takes just several seconds.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3072
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA


Return to Tools 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests