They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2019
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Create transparent background

Specific to Premiere Elements version 14

Create transparent background

Postby mikecox » Tue Oct 31, 2017 3:25 pm

I have several small images on the video 2 track that I want to lay over the video 1 track but they completely cover the Video 1 images because the background is not transparent. How do I make it transparent?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Michael :cool:
Pr Pro, Ps and Lr CC, Canon Cameras: 60D and 70D
WIN10 Pro, Surface Book,
i7-6600U CPU@2.6GHz 2.81, 16GB RAM,475 GB SSD, 211 Free
Intel HD Graphics 520, NVIDIA GeForce GPU
User avatar
mikecox
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:02 pm
Location: San Diego

Re: Create transparent background

Postby sidd finch » Tue Oct 31, 2017 3:32 pm

The easiest way is to open the pictures in photoshop and use the magic erase tool to remove the background then save as a PSD file. Import the PSD file in Premiere.

Sidd
"Nunc coepi" - Now I begin
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4162
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Create transparent background

Postby Steve Grisetti » Tue Oct 31, 2017 3:37 pm

As Sidd says, your text needs to be on a layer in Photoshop Elements with no background layer. If you do this, when you save the file as a PSD, it will be saved as text without background.

FWIW, we show you how to do this step by step in our "Muvipix.com Guide to Photoshop Elements."
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12816
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Create transparent background

Postby mikecox » Wed Nov 01, 2017 2:15 pm

sidd finch wrote:The easiest way is to open the pictures in photoshop and use the magic erase tool to remove the background then save as a PSD file. Import the PSD file in Premiere.

Sidd

Thanks Sidd. That solved the problem. It never occurred to me to try loading psd files into PrE.
Michael :cool:
Pr Pro, Ps and Lr CC, Canon Cameras: 60D and 70D
WIN10 Pro, Surface Book,
i7-6600U CPU@2.6GHz 2.81, 16GB RAM,475 GB SSD, 211 Free
Intel HD Graphics 520, NVIDIA GeForce GPU
User avatar
mikecox
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:02 pm
Location: San Diego

Re: Create transparent background

Postby mikecox » Wed Nov 01, 2017 2:19 pm

Steve Grisetti wrote:FWIW, we show you how to do this step by step in our "Muvipix.com Guide to Photoshop Elements."
Ps Elements or Pr Elements? I've watched most of your great videos on Lynda.
Michael :cool:
Pr Pro, Ps and Lr CC, Canon Cameras: 60D and 70D
WIN10 Pro, Surface Book,
i7-6600U CPU@2.6GHz 2.81, 16GB RAM,475 GB SSD, 211 Free
Intel HD Graphics 520, NVIDIA GeForce GPU
User avatar
mikecox
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:02 pm
Location: San Diego

Re: Create transparent background

Postby Steve Grisetti » Wed Nov 01, 2017 3:20 pm

Well, you prepare the graphic in Photoshop Elements, which is why it's in the Photoshop Elements book.

We've also got a tutorial showing the basics.
http://muvipix.com/products.php?searchp ... =0&btn.y=0
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12816
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin


Return to PRE Version 14 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests