They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2020
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to Cyberlink PowerDirector 18
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

slideshow does not run smoothly in editor

Specific to Premiere Elements version 14

slideshow does not run smoothly in editor

Postby mikecox » Thu Sep 21, 2017 3:31 am

After I render my slideshow it still will not run smoothly, in fact, it starts and stops constantly and the images often fail to display when the CTI is over them. I keep toggling start/stop which helps for awhile, and doing a save sometimes seems to help but the only way I can see it run smoothing is after I export it and run it outside PrE.

I am wondering if this has something to do with the fact that I have imported images 2000 pixels and 300 ppi.

I suppose I could reduce the resolution to 200, or maybe less, but I'm afraid I'll end up with a soft focus effect when I zoom in.

I'm publishing these slideshows on a company FB page and I want them to be as sharp as possible. Would I get the same results at a lower resolution, considering it's posted to the web?

I'm also considering re-installing PrE in the hope that maybe that will help.
Michael :cool:
Pr Pro, Ps and Lr CC, Canon Cameras: 60D and 70D
WIN10 Pro, Surface Book,
i7-6600U CPU@2.6GHz 2.81, 16GB RAM,475 GB SSD, 211 Free
Intel HD Graphics 520, NVIDIA GeForce GPU
User avatar
mikecox
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:02 pm
Location: San Diego

Re: slideshow does not run smoothly in editor

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Sep 21, 2017 7:21 am

2000 pixel wide photos are not overly large -- and ppi is irrelevant -- so that's not likely the issue. And once you've rendered your timeline, you're watching a preview video, not the original photos, anyway.

It's as I've said, Mike, you've been posting a lot of issues in the last couple of weeks, Mike. I fear there's something up with your computer.

What happens if you output your slideshow as an MP4 using Publish & Share/Computer/AVCHD with the YouTube HD preset and you play this video with VLC Media Player?

Meantime, you may want to include more complete specs with your signature. You don't list any information about hardware, and it would be very helpful to know what processor you have, how much RAM and how large your hard drive(s) are.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13226
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: slideshow does not run smoothly in editor

Postby sidd finch » Thu Sep 21, 2017 10:09 am

Are you using a surface book Pro or a just a surface book?

It sounds like the buffer is full and cannot process the images. Pausing and stopping alleviates the buffer until you start again and it fills up. My guess is that the machine cannot handle the project.

Sidd
Omnium Rerum Principia Parva Sunt – 'The beginnings of all things are small.'
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4674
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: slideshow does not run smoothly in editor

Postby mikecox » Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:41 am

Steve Grisetti wrote:2000
It's as I've said, Mike, you've been posting a lot of issues in the last couple of weeks, Mike. I fear there's something up with your computer.

I'm beginning to agree, which is why I plan to re-install PrE, after I have GeekSquad service run their "cleanup" routine to check for problems

What happens if you output your slideshow as an MP4 using Publish & Share/Computer/AVCHD with the YouTube HD preset and you play this video with VLC Media Player?

The projects I output run fine.

Meantime, you may want to include more complete specs with your signature.
Is the info in my sig more helpful now?
Michael :cool:
Pr Pro, Ps and Lr CC, Canon Cameras: 60D and 70D
WIN10 Pro, Surface Book,
i7-6600U CPU@2.6GHz 2.81, 16GB RAM,475 GB SSD, 211 Free
Intel HD Graphics 520, NVIDIA GeForce GPU
User avatar
mikecox
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:02 pm
Location: San Diego

Re: slideshow does not run smoothly in editor

Postby mikecox » Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:54 am

sidd finch wrote:Are you using a surface book Pro or a just a surface book?

It sounds like the buffer is full and cannot process the images. Pausing and stopping alleviates the buffer until you start again and it fills up. My guess is that the machine cannot handle the project.

Sidd
Yes, that what it sounded like to me.

But I purchased this computer to address the problem I had when running PrE on my Dell Desktop, with its much older processor. Does PrE really need a faster processor than what I have?

Could I outsource some of the data handling processes, by redirecting "scratchpad" data?

Like I told Steve, I'm going to have GeekSquad run their "cleanup" routines then re-install PreE and see if that helps. Unless you think, based on the data in my sig that my Surface isn't up to the task, in which case I'm f....d! :mad:
Michael :cool:
Pr Pro, Ps and Lr CC, Canon Cameras: 60D and 70D
WIN10 Pro, Surface Book,
i7-6600U CPU@2.6GHz 2.81, 16GB RAM,475 GB SSD, 211 Free
Intel HD Graphics 520, NVIDIA GeForce GPU
User avatar
mikecox
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:02 pm
Location: San Diego

Re: slideshow does not run smoothly in editor

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Sep 21, 2017 1:20 pm

You certainly should not have problems playing and editing video on a computer with those specs, Mike.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13226
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: slideshow does not run smoothly in editor

Postby sidd finch » Thu Sep 21, 2017 1:52 pm

Depending on the length of the slideshow that might be an issue.

PE slows down when you have a lot of still images and a lot of transitions. It just ends up bogging down the machine.

Also If you are using just one hard drive for the media and exporting that could be a factor.

Sidd
Omnium Rerum Principia Parva Sunt – 'The beginnings of all things are small.'
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4674
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: slideshow does not run smoothly in editor

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Sep 21, 2017 3:05 pm

I'm not so sure, Sidd. If he's rendered the timeline, the program should be playing the preview, so that photos should not bog down the system at all. Especially a powerful i7.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13226
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: slideshow does not run smoothly in editor

Postby mikecox » Sun Sep 24, 2017 1:57 am

sidd finch wrote:Depending on the length of the slideshow that might be an issue.

PE slows down when you have a lot of still images and a lot of transitions. It just ends up bogging down the machine.

Also If you are using just one hard drive for the media and exporting that could be a factor.

Sidd
Ok, I had Geeksquad run a "tuned up" on my computer and they found nothing to indicate that anything was wrong. Then I uninstalled PrE 14, re-booted my machine and re-installed it.

Then I opened the project and noticed the brown sections in the timeline so I rendered it and started it running.

The soundtrack faded in, so far so good, but when the CTI passed onto the first image, that was supposed to fade in nothing appeared on the preview screen. Finally, when CTI got to the 2nd image something appeared on the preview screen and paned out in a jerking stop\start motion. I toggled stop/start and it started again but it never ran smoothly. Toggling stop/start helped keep it displaying in the preview screen.

Re-installing the program had no effect at all! :ha:
Michael :cool:
Pr Pro, Ps and Lr CC, Canon Cameras: 60D and 70D
WIN10 Pro, Surface Book,
i7-6600U CPU@2.6GHz 2.81, 16GB RAM,475 GB SSD, 211 Free
Intel HD Graphics 520, NVIDIA GeForce GPU
User avatar
mikecox
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:02 pm
Location: San Diego

Re: slideshow does not run smoothly in editor

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sun Sep 24, 2017 7:40 am

I think you may have stumped us, Mike.

If we can't duplicate your issue -- even on my less powerful machine -- we can't help you.

I really don't know what's up. Sorry. Have you tried using the slideshow creator in the Organizer instead, and then importing your finished slideshow into your Premiere Elements project?
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13226
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: slideshow does not run smoothly in editor

Postby Peru » Sun Sep 24, 2017 10:10 am

I wonder if it may be a graphics driver issue?
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3369
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: slideshow does not run smoothly in editor

Postby Bob » Sun Sep 24, 2017 12:43 pm

Just grasping at straws, but what are the project settings?

If you start a new project using a few of those same slides and effects does it still behave the same way?

How complex is your project?

This is a puzzler.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5876
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: slideshow does not run smoothly in editor

Postby mikecox » Sun Sep 24, 2017 7:53 pm

Peru wrote:I wonder if it may be a graphics driver issue?
I wondered about that too, I mean what other variables are there to consider?

Surface Book owners have their own forum so I am going to check with them to see if there are any PrE users there and see if anyone else is having this problem. Basically, I want to find out what I should expect from this machine.

I have added my computers graphics data to my Sig. I don't know much about graphics cards so couldn't say what I should expect from this one.
Michael :cool:
Pr Pro, Ps and Lr CC, Canon Cameras: 60D and 70D
WIN10 Pro, Surface Book,
i7-6600U CPU@2.6GHz 2.81, 16GB RAM,475 GB SSD, 211 Free
Intel HD Graphics 520, NVIDIA GeForce GPU
User avatar
mikecox
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:02 pm
Location: San Diego

Re: slideshow does not run smoothly in editor

Postby mikecox » Sun Sep 24, 2017 8:19 pm

Bob wrote:Just grasping at straws, but what are the project settings?

They are set pretty much to their default. After I re-installed PrE I loaded the project and previewed it and it behaved just as I've described above.

If you start a new project using a few of those same slides and effects does it still behave the same way?
I have this problem with all my projects.

How complex is your project?
I believe it's pretty complex, but I don't know because I don't have anything to compare it to. My current project has 19 still images that are 2000px @300ppi. You can see all my slideshows on FB

https://www.facebook.com/pg/SpreckelsOrgan/posts/?ref=page_internal
Michael :cool:
Pr Pro, Ps and Lr CC, Canon Cameras: 60D and 70D
WIN10 Pro, Surface Book,
i7-6600U CPU@2.6GHz 2.81, 16GB RAM,475 GB SSD, 211 Free
Intel HD Graphics 520, NVIDIA GeForce GPU
User avatar
mikecox
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:02 pm
Location: San Diego

Re: slideshow does not run smoothly in editor

Postby mikecox » Sun Sep 24, 2017 8:32 pm

Steve Grisetti wrote:Have you tried using the slideshow creator in the Organizer instead, and then importing your finished slideshow into your Premiere Elements project?
No. I'm not familiar with the Organize because I changed the default so the program opens to the Video Editor. I just glanced at it, how would that be helpful?
Michael :cool:
Pr Pro, Ps and Lr CC, Canon Cameras: 60D and 70D
WIN10 Pro, Surface Book,
i7-6600U CPU@2.6GHz 2.81, 16GB RAM,475 GB SSD, 211 Free
Intel HD Graphics 520, NVIDIA GeForce GPU
User avatar
mikecox
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:02 pm
Location: San Diego

Next

Return to PRE Version 14 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests