They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2019
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Marking trimmed clips

Specific to Premiere Elements version 14

Marking trimmed clips

Postby John Walker » Fri Jul 28, 2017 11:07 am

Hi

Back to editing after a break. I'm just working my way through a pile of clips in a new project. Is there a way of marking them so I know which ones I've already trimmed etc?

Regards
John
Cameras:
[1] Sony RX100 M3
[2] Panasonic HC-X920
Software:
Win 10
Adobe Premiere Elements 14
PC:
Intel i5 3.5 Ghz
Gigabyte Z97X-UD3H
C: Drive 500Gb SSD, 2 x 1Tb internal SATA drives, 2 x 2Tb Back Up Drives
16 Gb Ram
Radeon HD5450 1Gb
John Walker
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 1:38 pm

Re: Marking trimmed clips

Postby Steve Grisetti » Fri Jul 28, 2017 7:19 pm

You can put them in a folder in the Project Assets panel.

I guess it depends on what you mean by 'trimmed'.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12781
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Marking trimmed clips

Postby John Walker » Sat Jul 29, 2017 4:05 pm

Steve Grisetti wrote:You can put them in a folder in the Project Assets panel.

I guess it depends on what you mean by 'trimmed'.


Many thanks Steve,

I just knew you would have the answer. By trimming I mean setting the in and out points of a clip.
I've not used folder option before, so will give it a try.

Regards
John
:TU:
Cameras:
[1] Sony RX100 M3
[2] Panasonic HC-X920
Software:
Win 10
Adobe Premiere Elements 14
PC:
Intel i5 3.5 Ghz
Gigabyte Z97X-UD3H
C: Drive 500Gb SSD, 2 x 1Tb internal SATA drives, 2 x 2Tb Back Up Drives
16 Gb Ram
Radeon HD5450 1Gb
John Walker
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 1:38 pm

Re: Marking trimmed clips

Postby RJ Johnston » Fri Aug 04, 2017 5:45 pm

I was playing around with this in Premiere Elements 15 and found that you can modify the "file name" listed under each asset in the asset panel and can include something like an asterisk to mark them. At first I thought changing the "file name" would change the file name as it is stored in the file system, but it doesn't. In Premiere Elements 15, the file name you initially see listed under each asset is just the default "title." There is still a link to the original filename on the hard drive. It's probably the same way in 14.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3013
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Marking trimmed clips

Postby John Walker » Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:47 am

RJ Johnston wrote:I was playing around with this in Premiere Elements 15 and found that you can modify the "file name" listed under each asset in the asset panel and can include something like an asterisk to mark them. At first I thought changing the "file name" would change the file name as it is stored in the file system, but it doesn't. In Premiere Elements 15, the file name you initially see listed under each asset is just the default "title." There is still a link to the original filename on the hard drive. It's probably the same way in 14.


Many thanks for that great tip. It works fine in PE 14 too.

John
Cameras:
[1] Sony RX100 M3
[2] Panasonic HC-X920
Software:
Win 10
Adobe Premiere Elements 14
PC:
Intel i5 3.5 Ghz
Gigabyte Z97X-UD3H
C: Drive 500Gb SSD, 2 x 1Tb internal SATA drives, 2 x 2Tb Back Up Drives
16 Gb Ram
Radeon HD5450 1Gb
John Walker
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 1:38 pm


Return to PRE Version 14 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron