They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

"replacing" an unwanted object in a video

Specific to Premiere Elements version 14

"replacing" an unwanted object in a video

Postby obbrock » Sat Nov 26, 2016 9:23 am

I am very new to PRE
I know the basics about how to set up a garbage matte and a track matte.
Here's how far I have gotten:

Video 1 track contains a video with an unwanted object--a light bulb shining brightly.
I do have a portion of the video where the light is turned off.
I've taken a freeze frame-export of this unilluminated portion and then brought it into Project assets and placed it on the Video 2 Track, stretching it out to cover the entire video 1.
I'd like to show the non illuminated version of the light bulb instead of the illuminated one.
Can you point me in the right direction? I'm confused about what matte to use, which video track to apply it to, transparency--things like that.
I've been trying various tutorials, but haven't gotten the hang of it yet. Can you point me in the right direction or give me a few steps to follow?

Thank you
Oscar
obbrock
New User
New User

Re: "replacing" an unwanted object in a video

Postby Bob » Sat Nov 26, 2016 7:59 pm

I'm confused about what matte to use, which video track to apply it to, transparency--things like that.
I've been trying various tutorials, but haven't gotten the hang of it yet. Can you point me in the right direction or give me a few steps to follow?

The Track Matte Key effect is used to composite, i.e. overlay, a foreground image over a background image. It does this by introducing transparency into the foreground image so that the background image can show through. The effect uses a third image, the matte, to define where transparency is to be introduced.