They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2019
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Removing Video 1 track

Specific to Premiere Elements version 13

Removing Video 1 track

Postby sadddletree » Sun Nov 20, 2016 10:00 pm

I temporarily (I thought) added an extra track before the first track to move a section of film out of the way before I cropped it. I got everything the way I wanted it and emptied that track but now I can't remove it. It is empty and not doing anything. Is there a way to get rid of it now?
Windows 10, Intel (R) Core, i7 - 6500 U CPU @ 2.50 GHz 2.6 GHz, 12 GB RAM
Canon Vixia HF R700, AVCHD, 60p
sadddletree
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 9:18 pm

Re: Removing Video 1 track

Postby Steve Grisetti » Mon Nov 21, 2016 8:15 am

I'm not sure what you're saying, Saddletree. It sounds like you're saying you adding a clip to the beginning of your Video 1 track and then later you deleted this clip but the program did not close the gap. Is that right?

Can you post a screen capture so we can see what you're describing?
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12781
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Removing Video 1 track

Postby Bob » Mon Nov 21, 2016 2:22 pm

Steve, track 1 is completely empty and he wants to delete the empty track.

Saddletree, Premiere Elements does not let you do that. Premiere Elements does have a Delete Empty Tracks command, but it won't remove the required tracks: video track 1, audio track 1, narration, and soundtrack. Having an empty track 1 will not affect the project.
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5761
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Removing Video 1 track

Postby sadddletree » Mon Nov 21, 2016 2:35 pm

Thanks Bob. That is what I suspected but needed to know for sure. Lesson learned - don't put extra tracks before first track as a temporary work-around. Put your extra video somewhere else till you have the one section the way you want it and then add it back again...
Windows 10, Intel (R) Core, i7 - 6500 U CPU @ 2.50 GHz 2.6 GHz, 12 GB RAM
Canon Vixia HF R700, AVCHD, 60p
sadddletree
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 9:18 pm

Re: Removing Video 1 track

Postby Dave McElderry » Mon Nov 21, 2016 4:35 pm

If it really bothers you, you can select everything in the project and drag it all down one track. But be sure to do a save just prior so that you can revert if necessary. And remember, Undo is your friend.
Be yourself; everyone else is taken.

Studio XPS 435T, 2.93 GHz i7-940; Win 10-64; 24GB RAM; Samsung 512GB SSD (OS); two 1TB HDDs; GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1GB
User avatar
Dave McElderry
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4046
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Lost In Middle America

Re: Removing Video 1 track

Postby sidd finch » Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:10 pm

I think you can also set your default as to the number of empty tracks when you start a project.

Sidd
"Nunc coepi" - Now I begin
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4143
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Removing Video 1 track

Postby sadddletree » Mon Nov 21, 2016 11:57 pm

Dave, when I open it up it says it is putting in 187 or so bits of media - whatever that means - into this 6 minute segment. As far as moving things down, I'm neurotic, but not quite that neurotic. Now if it was only 50 or so... :)

Thanks for the answers and advice. I think I'll just live with it unless for some reason it will make my published video a lot larger.
Windows 10, Intel (R) Core, i7 - 6500 U CPU @ 2.50 GHz 2.6 GHz, 12 GB RAM
Canon Vixia HF R700, AVCHD, 60p
sadddletree
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 9:18 pm

Re: Removing Video 1 track

Postby Dave McElderry » Tue Nov 22, 2016 4:46 am

sadddletree wrote:I think I'll just live with it unless for some reason it will make my published video a lot larger.

No, your video will remain the same size.
Be yourself; everyone else is taken.

Studio XPS 435T, 2.93 GHz i7-940; Win 10-64; 24GB RAM; Samsung 512GB SSD (OS); two 1TB HDDs; GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1GB
User avatar
Dave McElderry
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4046
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Lost In Middle America

Re: Removing Video 1 track

Postby sadddletree » Tue Nov 22, 2016 9:00 am

Thanks!! Now I won't lose any sleep over it (though it will still bug me a little in the deep, dark recesses of my OCD brain...).
Windows 10, Intel (R) Core, i7 - 6500 U CPU @ 2.50 GHz 2.6 GHz, 12 GB RAM
Canon Vixia HF R700, AVCHD, 60p
sadddletree
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 9:18 pm

Re: Removing Video 1 track

Postby Dave McElderry » Tue Nov 22, 2016 9:05 am

I kind of thought it might.
Be yourself; everyone else is taken.

Studio XPS 435T, 2.93 GHz i7-940; Win 10-64; 24GB RAM; Samsung 512GB SSD (OS); two 1TB HDDs; GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1GB
User avatar
Dave McElderry
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4046
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Lost In Middle America


Return to PRE Version 13 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest