They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2019
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Making template for text

Specific to Premiere Elements version 13

Making template for text

Postby sadddletree » Tue Apr 19, 2016 9:18 pm

Is there a way to make a custom template for text? I have a specific font, size and position I am reusing consistently. I am currently duplicating a slide and then changing text on it, but often it gets moved and I have to reposition, which is a pain. And of course I have to make a new one for every section of video. So is there way to set up a template like the generic Add Text one but specific for what I want? (After a few 8 hour days working on this, any short cuts at all are appreciated.)

By the way, you people are an invaluable resource. Don't know what we would do without you...)
Windows 10, Intel (R) Core, i7 - 6500 U CPU @ 2.50 GHz 2.6 GHz, 12 GB RAM
Canon Vixia HF R700, AVCHD, 60p
sadddletree
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 9:18 pm

Re: Making template for text

Postby Dave McElderry » Wed Apr 20, 2016 4:09 am

Is this what you had in mind? Using Export/Import you can even use the same title between separate projects.

https://helpx.adobe.com/premiere-elemen ... itles.html
Be yourself; everyone else is taken.

Studio XPS 435T, 2.93 GHz i7-940; Win 10-64; 24GB RAM; Samsung 512GB SSD (OS); two 1TB HDDs; GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1GB
User avatar
Dave McElderry
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4122
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Lost In Middle America

Re: Making template for text

Postby sadddletree » Wed Apr 20, 2016 5:27 pm

Thanks! That helps a lot. I still have to readjust the position because it changes as I change the text in the box, but at least I don't have to change font and size for every section I am working on.

Is there any way I can adjust the position of the text numerically? I am using the position - lower third but I would like to consistently place the text box just inside the safe margins on the right hand side. Any short cuts for that move? Getting it exact just by the mouse takes time.
Windows 10, Intel (R) Core, i7 - 6500 U CPU @ 2.50 GHz 2.6 GHz, 12 GB RAM
Canon Vixia HF R700, AVCHD, 60p
sadddletree
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 9:18 pm

Re: Making template for text

Postby Dave McElderry » Thu Apr 21, 2016 11:11 am

sadddletree wrote:Is there any way I can adjust the position of the text numerically? I am using the position - lower third but I would like to consistently place the text box just inside the safe margins on the right hand side. Any short cuts for that move? Getting it exact just by the mouse takes time.


Click on the title to make sure that it's selected. Open Applied Effects > Motion. The adjustments that you make there will affect the selected title. You can type adjustments in numerically, including vertical and horizontal position, just as you did for the rotation adjustments that we discussed in the other thread.
Be yourself; everyone else is taken.

Studio XPS 435T, 2.93 GHz i7-940; Win 10-64; 24GB RAM; Samsung 512GB SSD (OS); two 1TB HDDs; GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1GB
User avatar
Dave McElderry
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4122
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Lost In Middle America

Re: Making template for text

Postby RJ Johnston » Thu Apr 21, 2016 1:40 pm

There's also another way to position the text box. After you select it, right-click and select Transform > Position from the pop-up menu. You can then type in x,y coordinates. I suppose once you have positioned the text box where you want it the first time, check the coordinates and use those numbers for future placements.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3046
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Making template for text

Postby sadddletree » Thu Apr 21, 2016 6:38 pm

Thanks RJ. I tried that and it will also help in setting things up consistently.
Windows 10, Intel (R) Core, i7 - 6500 U CPU @ 2.50 GHz 2.6 GHz, 12 GB RAM
Canon Vixia HF R700, AVCHD, 60p
sadddletree
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 9:18 pm


Return to PRE Version 13 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron