They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Outputting Final Video to Disc

Specific to Premiere Elements version 13

Outputting Final Video to Disc

Postby StevenG » Fri Feb 27, 2015 4:10 pm

First, I must thank Steve, Bob and Chuck for all of the help they have given me in finding the Audacity work-a-round to the CAD u37/MacBook Pro problem. You guys have been incredible. I am a novice, and you have all been patient beyond expectations. (Just be ready for more questions when I actually create a video!) While I am not totally comfortable with Audacity yet, I see how it can work, and when time permits, I will become more familiar with it. At this point I am putting the CAD u37 problem aside, and attempting to get back to learning the rest of PrE 13.

With that in mind, I have been thinking ahead to outputting to a disc or computer file. I store all of my stills and videos in Lightoom 5, on an external drive. When the drive is plugged in, no problem. The clips and stills in my video are all present and the video plays fine. When the external LR5 drive is not plugged in, I get a message "media off line", and there are no video clips or stills present in the video I have created. I thought once the media was imported into PrE 13, there would be a copy there. It seems, however, that PrE 13 is dependent on having LR 5 attached to the computer, even after the media is imported. Is this so?

Also, and this is my major concern, will this have any effect when I have completed a video and want to output it to a DVD or Computer file?
On my Mac, I have my iMovies (that I created with iMovie) stored in iTunes. From iTunes, I can burn to a disc. Will I be able to store the PrE 13 final video in iTunes or do I just keep them on an external drive?