They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2021
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 19
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

5k footage

Talk about the "World's Most Versatile Camera™" here.

5k footage

Postby sidd finch » Fri Sep 25, 2020 4:43 pm



Sidd
Vivere memento. – 'Remember to live..'
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5319
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: 5k footage

Postby Dave McElderry » Fri Sep 25, 2020 5:47 pm

And I’m just now getting ready to board the 4K train. Always a day late and a dollar short.
Be yourself; everyone else is taken.

Asus X570-E motherboard; AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 3.8 GHz; 64GB DDR4; GeForce RTX 2060 6GB; 1TB Samsung 970 Pro M.2 SSD
User avatar
Dave McElderry
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4344
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Lost In Middle America

Re: 5k footage

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Sat Sep 26, 2020 1:23 am

Dave McElderry wrote:And I’m just now getting ready to board the 4K train. Always a day late and a dollar short.

Not to worry, Dave. I am still 1080P and watching it upscaled on my 4K TV. Works for me for now.

I will go 4K at some point but that will mean the end of PPro for me as I don't want the Adobe subscription as I just don't do enough video work these days to justify the monthly outlay.
AMD Ryzen 3900x 12C/24T, ASUS x570 mobo, Arctic Liquid Freezer ll 280, Win10 64 bit, 64GB RAM, Radeon RX 570 graphics, Samsung 500GB NVMe 980 PRO (C:), Samsung 970 Evo SSD (D:), LG BD Burner, Dell U2717D Monitor, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4037
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: 5k footage

Postby sidd finch » Sat Sep 26, 2020 11:11 am

John, not sure what PPro you are using but CS6 handles 4k with no issues, but the 5k is another beast. Without purchasing Adobe cloud, looks like DaVinci can edit HEVC natively. Using handbrake also works but the quality of the converted file is not as good as the original file. I tried a 5k clip with handbrake and the source was 3GB. After conversion that same file was only 680MB so quite a lot of data was lost.

1 step forward 2 steps sideways.

Sidd
Vivere memento. – 'Remember to live..'
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5319
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: 5k footage

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Sun Sep 27, 2020 12:18 am

sidd finch wrote:John, not sure what PPro you are using but CS6 handles 4k with no issues...Sidd

That's good to know, Sidd. My misunderstanding and thanks for the info. I'll try recording some 4K with my Samsung S20 5G phone and see how it goes. :)
AMD Ryzen 3900x 12C/24T, ASUS x570 mobo, Arctic Liquid Freezer ll 280, Win10 64 bit, 64GB RAM, Radeon RX 570 graphics, Samsung 500GB NVMe 980 PRO (C:), Samsung 970 Evo SSD (D:), LG BD Burner, Dell U2717D Monitor, Synology DS412+ 8TB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4037
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Cheshire, UK


Return to GoPro Cameras 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests