They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2019
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

UltraWide

Talk about the "World's Most Versatile Camera™" here.

UltraWide

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Sep 15, 2016 8:05 am

Hello, GoPro experts!

I see that a number of the newer GoPros list an UltraWide as well as a Widescreen setting.

What exactly is this? Is an UltraWide 1920x1080 video wider than 16:9? And, if that's the case, does it mean the cam is using non-square pixels?
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12832
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: UltraWide

Postby Peru » Thu Sep 15, 2016 9:09 am

Disclaimer: I am not a GoPro expert. I don't even own one.

I got curious, so I called GoPro tech support. This is what they had to say:

Regular Ultrawide gives you the full 16:9 1920 X 1080. Medium and Narrow just crops the 16:9.
Superview Ultrawide in 1920 X 1080 changes the 1080 to 1440 and stretches out only the ends of the 1920 (with some distortion) to maintain the 16:9. When it saves it, it saves as 1920 X 1080.

Does this make sense?
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3136
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: UltraWide

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Sep 15, 2016 9:29 am

So we're still just dealing with 4:3 and 16:9 video?
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12832
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: UltraWide

Postby Peru » Thu Sep 15, 2016 9:31 am

The resulting video is the same par and aspect ratio as you start with.

Note: I edited the last post to add:
When it saves it, it saves as 1920 X 1080.
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3136
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: UltraWide

Postby momoffduty » Thu Sep 15, 2016 9:44 am

The dimensions will be the same as your set-up....1080p or 720p. The ultra-wide gives a distorted camera view like a wide angle lens. The sides will be curved.
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 7064
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: UltraWide

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Sep 15, 2016 10:03 am

Thanks, Cheryl. That makes sense.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12832
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: UltraWide

Postby sidd finch » Thu Sep 15, 2016 10:32 am

This takes advantage of the full frame of the sensor, pulling the images from the taller 4:3 aspect ratio and dynamically stretching them down to 16:9 (if you don’t want to deal with 4:3 aspect ratios of 1440.). This gives you more view above and below what would be your normal 16:9 frame. It looks great but should generally only be used for POV/mounted shots; otherwise, the dynamic stretch may give undesirable distortion over your footage.

Would this infer that you are considering becoming a GoPro User..... :tup:

Sidd
"Nunc coepi" - Now I begin
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4179
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: UltraWide

Postby Steve Grisetti » Fri Sep 16, 2016 7:20 am

Just trying to stay on top of things, Sidd.

I'm also just learning about 360 camcorders, which is a whole other batch of technology!
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12832
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: UltraWide

Postby Kent Frost » Fri Sep 16, 2016 3:18 pm

Image
Dell Studio XPS 8100, Intel Core i7 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 64-Bit Win7. Camera gear: 2x Canon 550D's, 1x Canon EOS 6D body, Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 & 17-50mm f2.8, Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 & 24-70mm f/2.8L, and two 420EX flashes.
User avatar
Kent Frost
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 2:48 pm

Re: UltraWide

Postby Chuck Engels » Fri Sep 16, 2016 3:35 pm

Thanks Kent :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17561
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: UltraWide

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sat Sep 17, 2016 8:01 am

That is very helpful, Kent! Thanks!

Though that looks more like a function of a lens than a camera setting.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12832
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: UltraWide

Postby Bob » Sat Sep 17, 2016 2:38 pm

...that looks more like a function of a lens than a camera setting.


It's a fixed focal length lens, not a zoom -- it doesn't change. The physical size of the sensor is constant and the lens projects the image onto the full sensor. What's changing is the portion of the sensor that is being recorded. This is similar to the crop factor in a DSLR. But, whereas the DSLR is designed to use the maximum sensor area and has a constant crop factor, the GoPro is designed to use different portions of the sensor depending on the FOV setting and will therefore have a different crop factor for each setting. Recording a smaller portion of the sensor will result in a larger crop factor and hence a longer equivalent focal length.

The resolution setting selects the output frame size. The selected area of the sensor will be resampled, if necessary, in camera to the selected resolution setting.

The Superview settings are handled differently from the other settings. With Superview, the entire sensor is used, but when resampling to the output frame size, the resampling is asymmetric. The vertical dimension is resampled linearly to the selected frame height as usual, but the horizontal dimension is resampled non-linearly. The center of the frame will look normal, but the edges will be stretched out to fill the frame and will be distorted. This is similar to stretching a 4:3 frame into a 16:9 frame such that the people in the center have normal faces while the people closer to the edge of the frame have progressively fatter faces. You don't want to use Superview if you have important detail near the horizontal edges of the frame.
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5770
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA


Return to GoPro Cameras 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron