They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2019
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Applying Effects

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 12.

Applying Effects

Postby Walter Seaton » Tue Jun 23, 2015 4:23 pm

I have a clip which contains a lot of hand-held shake. I followed the instructions in Steve's book on PRE12. I found the Stabilizer effect and dragged it over the clip. As soon as I did that my mouse became un-operative over PRE12; whenever the pointer was over the part of the monitor screen covered by PRE12 it became a circle with a diagonal line through it. However, when over a part of the screen not covered by PRE12 it worked normally and well. Also, as soon as I finished the drag and drop none of the keyboard shortcuts worked and I had to go to the Task Manager to shut PRE12 down.

Can you help, please? Many thanks.
3.70 gigahertz Intel 6-Core i7-8700K; Windows10PRO 64 bit; Board: ROG STRIX Z370-G ; 16MB RAM; Graphics NVIDIA GeForce GTX1050Ti ; 2 ViewSonic VP2365 Monitors; 2 internal SSDs 1TB each; 3 HDs: 2x2TB and 1x3TB; Camera Panasonic PV-DV953D; Sound Files .wav.
Walter Seaton
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:06 am

Re: Applying Effects

Postby Walter Seaton » Tue Jun 23, 2015 4:55 pm

Hi - This is Walter and I have discovered the cause/fixed the problem. I work with two monitors and have the timeline on one monitor and the main window with the commands on the other. That is when none of the effects will work. I pulled the timeline over to cover part of the main window and the effects worked well. So no further help needed.

Thank you.
3.70 gigahertz Intel 6-Core i7-8700K; Windows10PRO 64 bit; Board: ROG STRIX Z370-G ; 16MB RAM; Graphics NVIDIA GeForce GTX1050Ti ; 2 ViewSonic VP2365 Monitors; 2 internal SSDs 1TB each; 3 HDs: 2x2TB and 1x3TB; Camera Panasonic PV-DV953D; Sound Files .wav.
Walter Seaton
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:06 am

Re: Applying Effects

Postby Steve Grisetti » Wed Jun 24, 2015 7:31 am

Great troubleshooting, Walter! I don't know if anyone here could have figured that out!

BTW, have you got the latest firmware for your graphics card? (From ATI or nVidia. Not the Windows-supplied drivers.) This is such a strange bug that ATI or nVidia may have addressed it.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12835
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Applying Effects

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Jun 25, 2015 11:41 am

Love the Muvipix Self Help part of the forum :) Great work Walter :TU:
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17564
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA


Return to PRE Version 12 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron