They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2019
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Text in photos used in Instant Movies

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 12.

Text in photos used in Instant Movies

Postby kenskopp » Sat Jan 31, 2015 9:05 pm

Hello,

I have been using "Instant Movie" around my photos on the DVDs I make for the past few months. I like the added options it brings to photos. I originally made Slide Shows in Organizer. I want to know the best way to accomplish the following: Make an Instant Movie of my photos, be able to add text to selected photos, and have colored blank slides with "text" like "Following photos are...." I know there are various ways of doing things in PRE12 & PSE12. In other words, how do I combine ability of adding text to individual photos in a Slideshow created in PSE12 Organizer and having the photos made into an Instant Movie. Currently in the Project Asset panel I create a blank slide with colored background and add text. I am not sure on how to add text to individual photos in an Instant Movie. Thank you in advance for your guidance. I apologize if this seems confusing.

P.S. When you offer a Muvipix Guide to PSE14 and PRE14 could that book be in color like the separate guide on Premiere Element?
Intel Core i7-4770 (3.4GHz, 8MB Shared Cache), Windows 10, Two - 1TB internal hard drives, 2GB Nvidia GeForce GT720, 16GB DDR3-1600MHz, 16GB mSATA SSD Cache, Two External Hard Drives: 3TB and 1TB.
kenskopp
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:14 pm
Location: Jenison, MI (Outside Grand Rapids, MI)

Re: Text in photos used in Instant Movies

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:12 pm

The BEST way to do what you're trying to do, Ken, is to manually create it on your timeline using photos and title clips. I think if you try to use an automatic tool, like InstantMovie, you'll be constantly butting up against its limitations.

We'd love to offer the our guide to Photo Elements/Premiere Elements in color. Unfortunately, because we work with a small production publisher, the cost of doing so with a 500 page book would mean we would have to charge way more than we feel the market will bear (like possibly as much as $80 a copy). So we will continue to publish the combined book in black & white only. Sorry.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12781
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Text in photos used in Instant Movies

Postby kenskopp » Sun Feb 01, 2015 8:13 pm

Hi Steve,

Just completed a DVD that included 5 Instant Movies. I have photos from Christmases 2008 - 2012 and video clips from 2011 and 2012. From the Organizer I selected all the photos for a given year and created an Instant Movie. In PRE12 I made a title slide from the Project Panel for each Instant Movie. Then in sequence from the Organizer I sent the additional photo albums to my project. I had appropriate title slides for each Instant Movie. Then from the organizer I sent two albums of videos to the project. I added the Christmas DVD menu, burned to a folder and then burned to a DVD with Imagburn. The timeline was 1 hour and 54 minutes and burned to 4.37 GB. One problem remains. In the Organizer I set up photos in "Oldest First" in the album. When photos come into PRE12 Project Panel they are out of order. How do I get photos in the order I want in an Instant Movie"? After playing DVD. Photos in Instant Movies were not in the order I wanted them in.

Thanks for your help. Ken Skopp
Intel Core i7-4770 (3.4GHz, 8MB Shared Cache), Windows 10, Two - 1TB internal hard drives, 2GB Nvidia GeForce GT720, 16GB DDR3-1600MHz, 16GB mSATA SSD Cache, Two External Hard Drives: 3TB and 1TB.
kenskopp
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:14 pm
Location: Jenison, MI (Outside Grand Rapids, MI)

Re: Text in photos used in Instant Movies

Postby Steve Grisetti » Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:25 am

That's a tough one, Ken. As I said in my first post, one of the dangers of using an automatic feature is that you surrender some control.

Maybe someone else has a solution for controlling the order of the slides in an InstantMovie. I'm not aware of any myself.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12781
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Text in photos used in Instant Movies

Postby Chuck Engels » Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:08 am

There are two tutorials on Instant Movie in the subscriber downloads, I think that they still apply to the current version. I am pretty sure that the sort order of the images in the organizer is the order that they are loaded onto Premiere Elements timeline, would have to test to be sure this works. So if I created a catalog and used numbers to name and sort the images I put in the catalog, in the order that I wanted them to appear, it should work. At least in theory :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17530
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Text in photos used in Instant Movies

Postby kenskopp » Mon Feb 02, 2015 11:02 am

Hi Steve and Chuck,
I just checked project asset panel and photos are in correct order. I tried to make instant movie by selecting photos in project asset panel and right clicking and made Instant Movie" that had to folders in the project asset panel. I could not figure out how to get Instant Movie from the PAP to the Timeline. Since photos are in correct order in Project Asset Panel, how do I make an Instant Movie and get it to the timeline. I have viewed tutorials and looked at PRE12 manual but these sources did not help me. Maybe you should get a consulting contract from Adobe since I never find the answers I need from Adobe or the forums. Thanks again, Ken
Intel Core i7-4770 (3.4GHz, 8MB Shared Cache), Windows 10, Two - 1TB internal hard drives, 2GB Nvidia GeForce GT720, 16GB DDR3-1600MHz, 16GB mSATA SSD Cache, Two External Hard Drives: 3TB and 1TB.
kenskopp
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:14 pm
Location: Jenison, MI (Outside Grand Rapids, MI)

Re: Text in photos used in Instant Movies

Postby Steve Grisetti » Mon Feb 02, 2015 11:14 am

Try putting the photos on the timeline in the correct order, Ken. Then select all of the photos on the timeline and apply your InstantMovie to them.

That MIGHT work.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12781
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Text in photos used in Instant Movies

Postby Chuck Engels » Mon Feb 02, 2015 11:28 am

I am pretty sure that should do it Steve :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17530
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Text in photos used in Instant Movies

Postby kenskopp » Mon Feb 02, 2015 11:51 am

Ok fellows, how do I select all photos on timeline? I have had trouble trying to do this. Also is there a way to break apart on instant movie in PRE12? Once I can do this, I have at least 50 DCD projects I want to complete. Ken
Intel Core i7-4770 (3.4GHz, 8MB Shared Cache), Windows 10, Two - 1TB internal hard drives, 2GB Nvidia GeForce GT720, 16GB DDR3-1600MHz, 16GB mSATA SSD Cache, Two External Hard Drives: 3TB and 1TB.
kenskopp
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:14 pm
Location: Jenison, MI (Outside Grand Rapids, MI)

Re: Text in photos used in Instant Movies

Postby Chuck Engels » Mon Feb 02, 2015 12:00 pm

There should still be a break apart option in version 12. I cover that in my tutorial, think that is version 10.

Select any image on the timeline and press CTRL + A
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17530
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Text in photos used in Instant Movies

Postby Chuck Engels » Mon Feb 02, 2015 12:38 pm

Spent the past 40 minutes trying to find a way to order the images in a instant movie using version 10 with no success. It doesn't care how they are sorted in the media panel, how they are named or anything else. Cannot use clips on a timeline to create an instant movie in version 10, only items selected in the media panel. Each instant movie has a set of properties that can be changed or adjusted, maybe one of them will let you sequence by name. I did check a few and they do have an option to set the sequence, but it is by Theme or by Time/Date. I tried that and it did not seem to make any difference.

Anyone have any tricks when using the Instant Movie?

After the movie is created you can right click and select "Break Apart Instant Movie" from the menu, that does work fine in version 10.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17530
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Text in photos used in Instant Movies

Postby kenskopp » Mon Feb 02, 2015 9:32 pm

Hi Steve and Chuck,
I did find "break apart option" when right clicking. Still would like direction on how to select frames in Timeline to make Instant Movie. Also when using project asset panel option to make an Instant Movie, how do you move Instant Movie from asset panel to timeline. I had made Instant Movie in Project Asset Panel but could not determine how to get it to timeline.

Maybe there is no way to order photos. I always select "time/date order" but I do know what "order" the program is using or where it is getting it. It is very frustrating using Adobe PRE no matter what version. I am very satisfied with the DVDs I have made except for the fact software seems to have its own mind about the order it places photos in. I have never used the "Theme order" sorting but I hazard a guess that it will look just like "time/date order". Which probably means "Time/date" order does not function. Do you have any contact with Adobe which could clarify anomalies like this?

Chuck, I see how "Ctrl A" Works. The DVD I am talking about has 5 Instant Movies in it. If I add 20 more photo clips to the timeline, how do I select just those clips to make another Instant Movie? Am I as dumb as I feel or is PRE just quirky? Does any body else reading these post feel like this?

Thanks again. Without your help, I would have given up on using PRE12. Ken
Intel Core i7-4770 (3.4GHz, 8MB Shared Cache), Windows 10, Two - 1TB internal hard drives, 2GB Nvidia GeForce GT720, 16GB DDR3-1600MHz, 16GB mSATA SSD Cache, Two External Hard Drives: 3TB and 1TB.
kenskopp
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:14 pm
Location: Jenison, MI (Outside Grand Rapids, MI)

Re: Text in photos used in Instant Movies

Postby Chuck Engels » Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:15 pm

When premiere elements finishes creating the instant movie it is added to the timeline automatically.

You can only select images in the media panel or the organizer to create the instant movie. You can create folders and add specific images and clips, then create an instant movie selecting everything in a specific folder in the media panel.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17530
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Text in photos used in Instant Movies

Postby Steve Grisetti » Tue Feb 03, 2015 8:25 am

We've a couple of different lines of advice going at the same time, so it's getting hard for me to keep up with which line you're following, Ken. So I'm going to step back while you continue your conversation with Chuck.

But in my experience, in versions 11-13, the simplest way to really control the order of the clips in your InstantMovie is to add your clips or slides to the timeline first (in the order you prefer), select them all and then apply your InstantMovie theme to it.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12781
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Text in photos used in Instant Movies

Postby Chuck Engels » Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:59 am

Steve, I can't do that in version 10. What is the procedure to create the instant movie using clips on the timeline? Only having version 10 I am not going to be the best help for Ken considering he is on version 12.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17530
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Next

Return to PRE Version 12 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests