They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2020
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Organizer Keywords

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 12.

Organizer Keywords

Postby Walter Seaton » Thu Oct 02, 2014 6:44 pm

I have recently upgraded from PSE/PRE 8 to 12 and find the Organizer most frustrating. I meld together a lot of different shots and clips in a production and try to organize them in Organizer using keywords, categories and sub-categories. All media pertaining to a specific production are filed within an album. However, regardless of the album I select - although only the frames within that album are shown on the screen - all keywords from all albums appear in the right-hand column; the amount of scrolling I have to do to get where I want to go is enormous.

Is there any way to connect the keywords with their related albums so that only those show in the right hand column?

Many thanks.
3.70 gigahertz Intel 6-Core i7-8700K; Windows10PRO 64 bit; Board: ROG STRIX Z370-G ; 16MB RAM; Graphics NVIDIA GeForce GTX1050Ti ; 2 ViewSonic VP2365 Monitors; 2 internal SSDs 1TB each; 3 HDs: 2x2TB and 1x3TB; Camera Panasonic PV-DV953D; Sound Files .wav.
Walter Seaton
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:06 am

Re: Organizer Keywords

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Oct 02, 2014 8:30 pm

I don't know any way to do that, Walter. But if it's the clutter and the long list of keyword tags that bother you, you can always put the tags in categories and sub-categories, so you'll only see a few major category folders rather than every tag in the Keyword Tags panel.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13143
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Organizer Keywords

Postby Walter Seaton » Fri Oct 03, 2014 9:38 am

Thank you.
When I assigned keywords to images in a project, I was first asked to assign a Category and, where needed, a Sub-Category. To include all these keywords under a new Category (e.g. "Project 1") is there any way of cutting and pasting all the keywords related to that project into Category "Project 1" (this would turn the existing Categories into Sub-Categories) or will I have to start all over again re-tagging every image or is there another way to carry out your suggestion.
3.70 gigahertz Intel 6-Core i7-8700K; Windows10PRO 64 bit; Board: ROG STRIX Z370-G ; 16MB RAM; Graphics NVIDIA GeForce GTX1050Ti ; 2 ViewSonic VP2365 Monitors; 2 internal SSDs 1TB each; 3 HDs: 2x2TB and 1x3TB; Camera Panasonic PV-DV953D; Sound Files .wav.
Walter Seaton
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:06 am

Re: Organizer Keywords

Postby Steve Grisetti » Fri Oct 03, 2014 12:26 pm

It's as simple as creating a new category and then just dragging the tags into it!
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13143
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Organizer Keywords

Postby Walter Seaton » Fri Oct 03, 2014 1:17 pm

........And it was that simple!
I am very grateful for your advice.
Walter
3.70 gigahertz Intel 6-Core i7-8700K; Windows10PRO 64 bit; Board: ROG STRIX Z370-G ; 16MB RAM; Graphics NVIDIA GeForce GTX1050Ti ; 2 ViewSonic VP2365 Monitors; 2 internal SSDs 1TB each; 3 HDs: 2x2TB and 1x3TB; Camera Panasonic PV-DV953D; Sound Files .wav.
Walter Seaton
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:06 am

Re: Organizer Keywords

Postby Steve Grisetti » Fri Oct 03, 2014 5:05 pm

But of course!
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13143
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin


Return to PRE Version 12 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron