They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2020
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Fire wire card

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 12.

Fire wire card

Postby pch008 » Sat Jul 05, 2014 9:59 pm

I have a computer without a fire wire card but it had an empty port so... I bought one and installed it. I went to the Device Manager and it has recognized the card and says it is working properly. I have plugged my GL2 into it, put it on "play" but PrE-12 can't see the fire wire card. Is there some way I can tell it where the card is? Paul Hansen pch006@gmail.com
pch008
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 11:55 am

Re: Fire wire card

Postby Peru » Sun Jul 06, 2014 8:15 am

User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3346
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: Fire wire card

Postby pch008 » Sun Jul 06, 2014 11:54 am

Thanks, Peru. I tried that but Windows said the best driver was already installed and PrE sill can't find it.
pch008
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 11:55 am

Re: Fire wire card

Postby Peru » Sun Jul 06, 2014 12:40 pm

User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3346
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: Fire wire card

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sun Jul 06, 2014 4:03 pm

I second Peru's suggestion that you set the FireWire driver to use the Legacy driver, pch -- despite what Windows says.

Particularly if you're using Windows 7, this is a known issue and switching to the Legacy driver is the known fix.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13149
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Fire wire card

Postby pch008 » Tue Jul 29, 2014 11:37 am

I must admit to an embarrassing solution to my problem. I took out the fire wire card and, again went to the devise manager and it said the card was installed and working correctly. I called the friend who gave me that computer and he said, "Oh, didn't I tell you? I installed a fire wire card because I was using video tape at the time." It is on the top of the computer and is different from the one on my GL2. So I got a cheap cable from Amazon:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
pch008
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 11:55 am

Re: Fire wire card

Postby Steve Grisetti » Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:15 pm

Always happy to hear of cheap solutions, Paul!
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13149
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin


Return to PRE Version 12 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron