They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Cutting Long Section of Video

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 11.

Cutting Long Section of Video

Postby MP#$864zz » Thu Oct 27, 2016 1:06 am

Hi

I was looking for info on how to Cut a long section out of a Video say 5 mins .

Then Pasting the cut out section into another Video or using it to start a new Video.

I could not find a Tut on this procedure on the web Site.

I have Steve's Book on PRE 11.

Can you direct me to section of the Book where this is covered.

Thanks Fred
OLD Dell Precision Work Station T 3500
Xeon CPU X 5650 @ 2.67 GHz
12 GB Ram 64 bit
MP#$864zz
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 12:52 pm
Location: California

Re: Cutting Long Section of Video

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Oct 27, 2016 7:14 am

It depends on what you mean, Fred. It sounds like you're asking how you can cut a segment from a longer video and then use that segment as a media file in a new video project.

If that's the case, and you're working in high-def video, just place the longer clip on your timeline and trim it until the segment you want to save remains. Then, as it says in the book, just use Publish & Share/Computer/AVCHD with the M2T 1920x1080i preset to output the video.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12747
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Cutting Long Section of Video

Postby MP#$864zz » Thu Oct 27, 2016 12:04 pm

Hi Steve

Thanks for the Reply.

Yes I am working in HD.

What I would like to do is more like Cut the Video into TWO Parts

and Save both parts as separate files.

Is there a way to Just High lite a Section of Video and then Export that section as a New File ?

Thanks for you Help.

Fred
OLD Dell Precision Work Station T 3500
Xeon CPU X 5650 @ 2.67 GHz
12 GB Ram 64 bit
MP#$864zz
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 12:52 pm
Location: California

Re: Cutting Long Section of Video

Postby Dave McElderry » Thu Oct 27, 2016 12:33 pm

The following thread may be helpful.

viewtopic.php?f=108&t=14636&p=122074&hilit=work+area+bar#p122074

Isolate the section with the Work Area Bar that you want to export to use later. However, the thread is referencing standard definition video so then, as Steve instructed, use Publish & Share/Computer/AVCHD with the M2T 1920x1080i preset to output the video.
Be yourself; everyone else is taken.

Studio XPS 435T, 2.93 GHz i7-940; Win 10-64; 24GB RAM; Samsung 512GB SSD (OS); two 1TB HDDs; GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1GB
User avatar
Dave McElderry
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4028
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Lost In Middle America

Re: Cutting Long Section of Video

Postby MP#$864zz » Thu Oct 27, 2016 2:34 pm

Hi Dave

Thanks that was very Helpful.

I keep thinking I am in Windows and can just cut and Paste Everything.

Fred
OLD Dell Precision Work Station T 3500
Xeon CPU X 5650 @ 2.67 GHz
12 GB Ram 64 bit
MP#$864zz
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 12:52 pm
Location: California

Re: Cutting Long Section of Video

Postby Dave McElderry » Thu Oct 27, 2016 2:42 pm

MP#$864zz wrote:I keep thinking I am in Windows and can just cut and Paste Everything.

Yeah, there's a lot of us who think it ought to work that way. Unfortunately it doesn't .
Be yourself; everyone else is taken.

Studio XPS 435T, 2.93 GHz i7-940; Win 10-64; 24GB RAM; Samsung 512GB SSD (OS); two 1TB HDDs; GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1GB
User avatar
Dave McElderry
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4028
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Lost In Middle America

Re: Cutting Long Section of Video

Postby MP#$864zz » Fri Oct 28, 2016 12:31 am

Hi Steve

" just use Publish & Share/Computer/AVCHD with the M2T 1920x1080i preset to output the video." Steve

This worked, but why did you recommend the Interlaced vs the progressive ?

The file came out as a MT2 file and did not show up until I searched all files.

Thanks Fred
OLD Dell Precision Work Station T 3500
Xeon CPU X 5650 @ 2.67 GHz
12 GB Ram 64 bit
MP#$864zz
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 12:52 pm
Location: California

Re: Cutting Long Section of Video

Postby Steve Grisetti » Fri Oct 28, 2016 7:30 am

Every question has a simple answer and complicated answer. The simple answer answers the question simply. The complicated one needs a lot more explanation that a typical forum reply can include.

The existing preset is the simple answer. You can use progressive frames if you'd prefer.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12747
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin


Return to PRE Version 11 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron