They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2020
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

adding sound to project

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 11.

adding sound to project

Postby iop » Sun Oct 09, 2016 2:44 pm

When editing in expert view on a project, when I add a audio clip (music) it separates and leaves a gap in the video. I cannot use "Delete and Close Gap" as it is grayed out. If I then move my video file to close gap then it creates a gap in my audio file that I just added. Again I cannot "Delete and Close gap" option because it is grayed out and it seems I am in a LOOP between audio and video undesired gaps. Yes I have Steves book - guide for pre 11. What am I doing wrong or what should I do to add audio ?
iop
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 4:00 pm

Re: adding sound to project

Postby Peru » Sun Oct 09, 2016 4:36 pm

Can you post a screenshot of your timeline?
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: adding sound to project

Postby iop » Sun Oct 09, 2016 4:44 pm

I am not sure how to do that. To clarify I just cant get both audio and video to joint to previous audio and video. When I join video (I mean abut) the audio tracks move apart. Vice versa when manually joining audio the video moves apart.
iop
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 4:00 pm

Re: adding sound to project

Postby iop » Sun Oct 09, 2016 6:08 pm

Screenshots:
1. Before adding audio 2. After adding audio 3. then moving video
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
iop
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 4:00 pm

Re: adding sound to project

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sun Oct 09, 2016 6:51 pm

Have you tried holding down the Alt or Option key as you add your clip, as we suggest in our book?
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13129
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: adding sound to project

Postby iop » Sun Oct 09, 2016 8:40 pm

That works - thanks so much. Can you give me a page number where that is located. Have been all thru your book many times but missed that. Cant thank you enough for this forem. iop
iop
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 4:00 pm

Re: adding sound to project

Postby Chuck Engels » Mon Oct 10, 2016 10:23 am

:TU:
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: adding sound to project

Postby iop » Mon Oct 10, 2016 1:00 pm

For Steve. - could you please tell me where the reference is in your book for using ALT or OPT keys for adding sound ? thanks

For Chuck: you did not post any info - did you intend to ?
iop
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 4:00 pm

Re: adding sound to project

Postby Chuck Engels » Tue Oct 11, 2016 10:18 am

Steve will reply shortly I'm sure. I was just showing thumbs up that you received a solution that's all :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: adding sound to project

Postby Steve Grisetti » Tue Oct 11, 2016 4:01 pm

I don't mention it in the version 11 book. Sorry about that. But more recent versions of the book include a reference to it in the discussion of overriding the ripple function.

But you will find a demonstration of it in Part 3 of our 8 part Basic Training with Premiere Elements tutorial series.
http://muvipix.com/products.php?searchp ... 25&btn.y=4
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13129
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin


Return to PRE Version 11 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron