They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Confused about down rezzing

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 11.

Confused about down rezzing

Postby MJK1250 » Tue Aug 20, 2013 4:43 pm

Please forgive what is probably a basic question but I'm new to the world of video editing and am confused about down rezzing photos for use in a slide show. In Chapter four of Steve's book it is recommended that all photos be resized to no larger than 1000X750. Then in a few posts, I've read that all photos should be sized at 1000 for the width but this is for 4:3 Standard Def. I also read somewhere (not on this site) that if I want my photos to be viewed on a widescreen TV at full size (edge to edge) then I should size them at 1080 for the width which will work fine for all horizontal photos and the vertical photos will simply fall as they may with black borders on the sides - but that of course violates Steve's recommendation.

I actually made a small slide show (about 30 photos) in Windows Movie Maker after sizing all my photos at 1080 width in Photoshop 9 and it came out okay but now I want to do a bigger project in PE11 and want to get everything correct before I import the photos into PE11. Don't know if Movie Maker or PE11 has some kind of algorithm or program that automatically resizes photos to fit widescreen. I also plan to do some pan and zoom on the photos once I import them into PE11 and I think I read that I need to leave some room for that in the resizing.

Lastly, one of the answers to a post mentioned unchecking Scale to Frame Size but when I go to Edit/Preferences in Photoshop 9 there is no button on the drop down menu for Scale to Frame Size. I'm also confused about the Constrain Proportions box and if it should be checked or unchecked? And where do I even find it in Photoshop?