They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Saving Adjustment Presets not Possible?

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 11.

Saving Adjustment Presets not Possible?

Postby RJ Johnston » Mon Jan 14, 2013 2:40 am

It must not be possible to save Adjustment presets like you can save Video FX presets. I can't find the secret button, if there is one. Please let me know.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3001
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Saving Adjustment Presets not Possible?

Postby Paul LS » Mon Jan 14, 2013 3:31 am

The "Movie Looks" are basically adjustment presets... not sure how they save them though. :(
Paul LS
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 3064
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:21 am
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Saving Adjustment Presets not Possible?

Postby Steve Grisetti » Mon Jan 14, 2013 8:21 am

I'm not aware of one either, Robert. Although you could save one as a My Preset, of course.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12725
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Saving Adjustment Presets not Possible?

Postby RJ Johnston » Mon Jan 14, 2013 8:10 pm

Steve, I don't see how to save an Adjustment preset as a My Preset.

Paul, I tried to decipher the "Movie Looks" preset file -- one file contains all the Movie Looks presets -- but adding my own preset to the file is too difficult to figure out.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3001
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Saving Adjustment Presets not Possible?

Postby Steve Grisetti » Mon Jan 14, 2013 9:30 pm

Ooops, you're right, Robert. I don't see how to do it either.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12725
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Saving Adjustment Presets not Possible?

Postby RJ Johnston » Fri Jan 18, 2013 10:34 pm

I had a brain surge last night. It turns out that Clipmate by Thornsoft, now updated for Windows 8, makes a nice storage cabinet for storing presets for not only effects but also adjustments or any combination. The way I devised it, the "Bars and Tones" clip is used as an intermediary to pass effects from Clipmate to PRE11 or from PRE11 to Clipmate. There's no worry about where the "Bars and Tone" clip is stored on the hard drive because that is created internally by Premiere Elements. You only need to add the "Bars and Tones" to a convenient place on the timeline if you want to copy effects from PRE11 to Clipmate. When pasting from Clipmate to PRE11, the "Bars and Tones" is created by means of the paste command. The "Bars and Tones" clip with applied effects and adjustments is what is copied to Clipmate.

After I get the right look on a video clip and I want to save the effects and adjustments that I applied to the clip as a "preset," I follow these steps:

1) Right-click on the video clip and select "Copy." That's added to Clipmate, but we don't need it and will delete it later.
2) Right-click on the Bars and Tones clip and select "Paste effects and adjustments."
3) Right-click on the Bars and Tones clip and select "Copy." That's added to Clipmate.
4) Go to Clipmate and rename the most recent clip from step 3 to something meaningful.
5) Delete the other clip in Clipmate created in step 1.

When you want to apply effects and adjustments stored in Clipmate to a video clip on the timeline, you reverse the process. After doing a paste from Clipmate to the timeline -- at which time the Bars and Tones clip appears at the CTI with effects and adjustments -- you just right-click and "Copy" the Bars and Tone, and right-click and "Paste effects and adjustments" to the desired video clip.

Of course you have to know how to use Clipmate.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3001
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Saving Adjustment Presets not Possible?

Postby Steve Grisetti » Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:13 pm

I knew if there was a solution out there, Robert would find it!
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12725
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin


Return to PRE Version 11 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest