They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

What Digital File Format To Use?

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 11.

Postby Avagadro1 » Mon Oct 29, 2012 5:41 pm

I am brand new to video; as of yet I have no experience at all – though I’ve done a good bit or reading. I wish to convert some 1980s-made VHS tapes to digital format, edit them, and burn DVDs (so what else is new?). I assume that I’ll purchase Adobe Premier Elements shortly (as soon as I purchase Chuck Engels’ book).

Because of the age of the tapes, I thought I might have a professional service do the capture as they would have high-end Time Based Correction equipment – if needed. They would then generate “raw” digital files rather than a DVD, and provided them to me on my portable hard drive.

I called a couple such firms in my area. It seems that most individuals in the VHS conversion business are not “high end”, if you know what I mean. But then I spoke with the owner/manager of a high-end firm, a fellow who was extremely knowledgeable and who seems to have every piece of equipment possibly needed, and then some.