They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2020
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to Vegas Movie Studio Platinum 17
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Tape-Based Capture: In AVI vs. MP4?

Other Video editors/authors that assist in video production.

Re: Tape-Based Capture: In AVI vs. MP4?

Postby Chuck Engels » Tue Aug 25, 2020 9:35 am

All the good solutions are tried and true firewire solutions so far, I would love to find a good USB solution for archiving old VHS tapes.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17892
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Tape-Based Capture: In AVI vs. MP4?

Postby RJ Johnston » Tue Aug 25, 2020 6:47 pm

Here's a converter where no computer is needed.

ClearClick-Converter 2.0
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3099
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Tape-Based Capture: In AVI vs. MP4?

Postby sidd finch » Tue Aug 25, 2020 7:10 pm

RJ I saw this review of that recorder and looks like it had some snags. FF to about :58 for his impression.



Sidd
Vivere memento. – 'Remember to live..'
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5026
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Tape-Based Capture: In AVI vs. MP4?

Postby RJ Johnston » Tue Aug 25, 2020 7:23 pm

There is a firmware update. This is his remark after applying the firmware update.

Converter I Used in this video - https://geni.us/Qgv4U
*** UPDATE!! The converter I used has a new Firmware update and it fixes the corruption issues I had so It's Awesome! I did also try two other models from Digitnow and they both gave me tons of reliability and Audio Sync issues so I would say this is the one to get. Just make sure you get the latest firmware for it.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3099
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Tape-Based Capture: In AVI vs. MP4?

Postby Steve Grisetti » Wed Aug 26, 2020 7:21 am

This might be the best solution, Robert.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13533
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Tape-Based Capture: In AVI vs. MP4?

Postby sidd finch » Wed Aug 26, 2020 10:00 am

There is a firmware update. This is his remark after applying the firmware update.


Thank you RJ appreciated. I do yave quite a few tapes to go through so this might be something that would be a workable solution.for my old SD tapes.

But it looks like it does not support any HD DV Tape so Lets hope there is a solution for that.

(Recording Resolution: SD 720x480 Pixels. Not Intended For Modern HD Video Sources.)


So this blurb caused me to think..... I remember when I purchased the Sony HC-1 and one of the tag lines was that with this model being HDV you could Future Proof your videos.... :conf:

I guess future proof only meant till about 2013....

Sidd
Vivere memento. – 'Remember to live..'
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5026
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Tape-Based Capture: In AVI vs. MP4?

Postby Chuck Engels » Wed Aug 26, 2020 10:33 am

A Firewire card is around $10, a used Canopus ADVC can be had on eBay for around $100, that's only $110 and the minor hassle of installing the card. You can still get computers today with Firewire already installed. It hasn't become impossible yet.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17892
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Previous

Return to Video Editors 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron