They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2021
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 19
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

video upscale

Talk about anything here.

video upscale

Postby sjf » Thu Jul 23, 2020 10:21 am

Currently using PRE15 on a Mac, to edit home videos all filmed with VHS or Hi8. These have been digitized and now reside on DVD. Nevertheless, video still blurry, especially bad on larger screens.
1. Is there a valid way to upscale resolution? Is video enhancement the same thing? Who makes legitimate software and/or hardware to do this, and can it be done on a Mac?

2. Unrelated question - have been unable to update to Catalina OS since incompatible with PRE15. Are there other significant benefits to upgrading to PRE20?
sjf
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 9:45 am

Re: video upscale

Postby sidd finch » Thu Jul 23, 2020 10:56 am

There is a process that uses a bunch of AI to sample and upscale the footage. What I do is to play around with the sharpen tool and see if you can get something you are happy with. VHS tapes have low resolution so getting it to look sharp on a 1080p monitor or TV is difficult but....

The video below has information about how it is done. I have not tried this and not sure how involved the process really is



Sidd
Vivere memento. – 'Remember to live..'
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5312
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: video upscale

Postby Steve Grisetti » Thu Jul 23, 2020 10:57 am

1. Video upscaling is a best done by your TV and disc player, and most do a good job of that. But DVDs are just standard resolution, so there's a limit to how much you can enlarge it before it looks soft. You may be able to upscale your DVD video using a third-party program, but I don't know what that program would be -- and even it wouldn't create true HD from standard resolution. But also note that if you put the video back on a DVD, you'll be downscaling it again, so it will still be standard resolution if you're playing it off a disc.

2. Premiere Elements performance has not improved much since version 15, other than being able to edit H.265 HEVC video. But you can see the list of new features from each version on your product pages. It's those features rather than improved performance that would be the best reason to upgrade. That and Apple's OS upgrades that continually make old software useless.

Here are the new features for version 2018: https://muvipix.com/pe2018.php
Here they are for version 2019: https://muvipix.com/pe2019.php
Here they are for version 2020: https://muvipix.com/pe2020.php
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13780
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: video upscale

Postby sjf » Thu Jul 23, 2020 11:52 am

Thanks all for the input. Steve mentions that putting enhanced video back onto DVD would result in downscaling again. Is there another way to do this? Perhaps uploading to a 3rd party site for select folks to stream, or would putting video on USB give better resolution. I have previously tried putting a 4K movie on USB but it did not play smoothly - unsure if that was my TV, which was not 4K, or was the USB too slow - if the latter, what specs for USB are ideal?
sjf
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 9:45 am

Re: video upscale

Postby sidd finch » Thu Jul 23, 2020 1:45 pm

TV, which was not 4K, or was the USB too slow - if the latter, what specs for USB are ideal?


I am not sure 4k video plays on a non 4k tv unless you are viewing TV through streaming Youtube. 4k files need to run on USG 3.0 because of the size.

Sidd
Vivere memento. – 'Remember to live..'
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5312
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: video upscale

Postby Bob » Thu Jul 23, 2020 4:48 pm

Topaz Labs sells a product called Video Enhance AI specifically designed to enlarge and enhance video. Needs interlaced video to be de-interlaced before upscaling, but the results are impressive. See this link for more information: https://topazlabs.com/video-enhance-ai/

User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5902
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: video upscale

Postby sidd finch » Thu Jul 23, 2020 7:30 pm

Requirements:

Looks like the software is $200 USD.

System Requirements: 1. Need nVidia GPU >3GB VRAM to run fast (CPU can run but quite slow). 2. Cannot handle “interlaced” video directly, footage needs to be to de-interlaced first. 3. Windows 10 platform, Mac OS 10.13 or higher.

Sidd
Vivere memento. – 'Remember to live..'
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5312
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: video upscale

Postby sjf » Fri Jul 24, 2020 12:35 pm

Thx to all. Topaz system looks pretty good. Have already contacted them to make certain my computer meets requirements.
sjf
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 9:45 am

Re: video upscale

Postby BuddyB » Wed Nov 18, 2020 1:05 pm

Shoooee Bob that Topaz thing takes my breath away. My question would be when will 8k take over from 4k? And does 8k effectively work with 4k screen, with the obvious limitations of course.
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 1009
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Re: video upscale

Postby Bob » Wed Nov 18, 2020 6:09 pm

It's going to be a long time before 8k takes over from 4k. You can buy 8K TV sets in the premium category right now. I think it's going to be about 2 or 3 more years before the cost of 8K gets down to where middle tier 4K sets are today. Eventually, just like all larger sized sets sold today are 4K, larger sets will have 8K capability. The problem is content. We're very much in the position we were when 4K first rolled out. No commercial content. I expect it will follow the same arc as 4K -- content will become available through the streaming services and the amount will increase as the number of 8K capable sets increase. Forget cable and satellite. Have to admit though, the quality is something. I recently saw an 85" Samsung QLED 8K set playing uprezzed 4K content and it was gorgeous.
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5902
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: video upscale

Postby BuddyB » Wed Nov 18, 2020 9:30 pm

Thanks Bob I feel you are right on.
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 1009
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Re: video upscale

Postby RJ Johnston » Wed Jan 06, 2021 5:51 pm

At the end of last year I bought Topaz Video Enhance AI version 1.8.1 after Topaz finally came out with a version that would run on my computer, which has no NVIDA or other GPU, just integrated Intel HD 2600 graphics. The price was also below $140.00; now it's up to $199. The results for upscaling 640x480 to 1280x720 were impressive. On my computer it takes about 7 hours to process 7000 frames using the fastest methods, so this is an overnight affair. Besides upscaling, Topaz Video Enhance AI does a really good job of cleaning noise. See attached screenshot for example. Please display at 100% scale (1920x1080) for best comparison.

Screenshot (103).png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3117
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: video upscale

Postby GerryB » Thu Jan 07, 2021 5:11 am

This is something I picked up elsewhere.

Pictures of Ireland past have been colourised and can be found in
https://oldirelandincolour.com

The source code (is that what it should be called?) can be found here
https://github.com/jantic/DeOldify

And it is free......

It is worth scrolling down through the web page to see all the examples, including old b&w movies.

I have an outstanding (personal) project to learn how to use the software on my b&w archive.

If you are on Twitter follow @johnbreslin and scroll back through his posts for some nuggets on the software.

If you are scaling up to 4K are you standing far enough back from the screen or are you up close and looming at the 'jagged edges'?

Gerry
GerryB
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:56 am
Location: Warwickshire, UK

Re: video upscale

Postby BuddyB » Thu Jan 07, 2021 12:04 pm

Neato Torpedo! However I don't know if my computer can handle it; only 8 gigs of RAM and I cannot seem to get my ASUS to recognize an additional identical 8 gigs. The board supposedly should be able to take 16. Even at that I get decent results out of my graphics.
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 1009
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Re: video upscale

Postby RJ Johnston » Thu Jan 07, 2021 4:13 pm

BuddyB wrote:Neato Torpedo! However I don't know if my computer can handle it; only 8 gigs of RAM and I cannot seem to get my ASUS to recognize an additional identical 8 gigs. The board supposedly should be able to take 16. Even at that I get decent results out of my graphics.


Buddy, I have only 8 gigs of RAM in my machine, and I can still use Topaz Video to crank out 8K video. Of course 8K video takes quite a long time to process, maybe 2 frames per minute. Timewise, 1280x720 does what I want in a reasonable amount of time. I wanted to get more RAM but decided to save the money towards a future machine with a faster processor.
Gateway DX4860-U28 i5-3300 Quad Core 3.0 GHz, Intel HD 2500 graphics, 8 Gb RAM; 1 TB 7200 RPM, 10 TB External, Windows 10 (x64).
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 3117
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Next

Return to Water Cooler 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 17 guests