They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2020
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to Vegas Movie Studio Platinum 17
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Previewing Video Problems

Specific to Premiere Elements version 15

Previewing Video Problems

Postby Smadams » Mon Jun 01, 2020 5:51 pm

I am new to this; however, have learned quite a bit in the process. I'm using Premiere Elements 15. After I've rendered my video and want to preview it from the beginning to the end, it will not playback smoothly. It's jerky at times, freezes at times and will sometimes stop. I've tried everything to fix the problem, but it still exists. I have not output it to any device at this time and want to know if that makes a difference when it is output. I don't know what to do at this point, and hope that someone can give me some assistance to resolve this problem.
Smadams
New User
New User
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:11 pm

Re: Previewing Video Problems

Postby Peru » Mon Jun 01, 2020 6:36 pm

:meet:
What are your computer specs?
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3411
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: Previewing Video Problems

Postby Steve Grisetti » Mon Jun 01, 2020 7:13 pm

There are actually several possible reasons for this, so we'll have to troubleshoot your issues.

Starting, as Peru says, with your processor, RAM load, hard drive free space and operating system.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13395
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Previewing Video Problems

Postby Chuck Engels » Mon Jun 01, 2020 9:58 pm

Hi Shirley, So glad you were able to post your question. Lots of friendly people here ready to help you :TU:

:wcm:
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17853
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Previewing Video Problems

Postby sidd finch » Tue Jun 02, 2020 8:30 am

After you have identified your computer specs its time to look at the media you are using. What is the type of clips size and frame rate. Is it all from the same camera? Or a variety of different camera. How long is the timeline? And are you using lots of transitions?

There are a lot of variables to eliminate so as to determine root cause.

Sidd
Vivere memento. – 'Remember to live..'
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Previewing Video Problems

Postby Smadams » Tue Jun 02, 2020 4:17 pm

Hopefully, I'm giving you the information you asked for regarding my computer.

I have an XPS 15 laptop 8th Generation Intel Core i7-8750H Processor (9MB Cache, up to 4.1 GHZ, 6 Cores}; Windows 10 Home 64 Bit English, 16 GB (2x8GB) DDR4 at 2666MHZ, and 1 TB M. 2 2280 PCle Solid State Drive.
Smadams
New User
New User
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:11 pm

Re: Previewing Video Problems

Postby sidd finch » Tue Jun 02, 2020 4:21 pm

Your computer is definitely fast enough and you have enough ram.

Time to look at the files and see what you have.... :)

Sidd
Vivere memento. – 'Remember to live..'
User avatar
sidd finch
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4858
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:20 pm
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Previewing Video Problems

Postby Chuck Engels » Tue Jun 02, 2020 4:39 pm

Would also be nice to know what kind of graphics your laptop has and the video memory.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17853
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Previewing Video Problems

Postby Smadams » Tue Jun 02, 2020 8:14 pm

Hopefully this is what you're asking.

I have NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050Ti with 4GB GDDR5
Smadams
New User
New User
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:11 pm

Re: Previewing Video Problems

Postby Steve Grisetti » Tue Jun 02, 2020 8:24 pm

Which processor are you running and with what operating system?

On Windows 10 you can find out the name of your processor by clicking on the Start button and typing in System Information.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13395
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Previewing Video Problems

Postby Chuck Engels » Tue Jun 02, 2020 8:31 pm

Steve she posted that earlier. ;)

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17853
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Previewing Video Problems

Postby Steve Grisetti » Wed Jun 03, 2020 7:23 am

Got it. Sorry. And it's clearly not a hardware issue. There's plenty of power there.

Meantime, what media are you editing and how long is your project? Where did the video come from?

Do you have the playback issues if you add, say, 10 photos to the timeline of a new project?
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13395
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Previewing Video Problems

Postby Smadams » Wed Jun 03, 2020 3:12 pm

I'm editing video from our vacation from a Sony Handycam HD 64GB 1080. The video is 47 minutes. I do have about 21 photos added and quite a number of transitions, which I was questioning if the transitions could also be causing some of the problem. The video was uploaded to the computer and then edited in Premiere Elements 15. I have another video that I did first that's a little shorter from another vacation that also has the same problems. There's probably a lot of things that I don't clearly understand, because I had to teach myself everything, using The Muvipix Guide, which I found very help; however, I'm sure there are some things that I possibly should have known more while in the process of editing my videos.

I do appreciate all the help you're providing to me and thank you for that.
Smadams
New User
New User
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:11 pm

Re: Previewing Video Problems

Postby Steve Grisetti » Wed Jun 03, 2020 3:38 pm

Which model of Sony do you have?

When you first add a clip from that camcorder to your timeline, does it have a yellow orange 'render' line above it?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13395
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Previewing Video Problems

Postby Smadams » Thu Jun 04, 2020 6:01 pm

The model of the video camera is HDR CX550V. However, the clips aren't taken directly from the video camera. They were already transferred to my computer. So I'm loading the clips directly from my computer.
Smadams
New User
New User
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:11 pm

Next

Return to PRE Version 15 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron