They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2019
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Quicktime for Windows

Talk about anything here.

Quicktime for Windows

Postby Peru » Fri Apr 15, 2016 7:49 am

I wonder how this will effect Premiere Pro and Premiere Elements users?
http://blog.trendmicro.com/urgent-call-action-uninstall-quicktime-windows-today/
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3288
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: Quicktime for Windows

Postby Dave McElderry » Fri Apr 15, 2016 8:55 am

Quicktime is still available from the Apple website for Windows users. It seems odd that they would say to uninstall it but still make it available. And, there's no mention of Quicktime Pro. I wonder if they still intend to support Pro on Windows?
Be yourself; everyone else is taken.

Studio XPS 435T, 2.93 GHz i7-940; Win 10-64; 24GB RAM; Samsung 512GB SSD (OS); two 1TB HDDs; GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1GB
User avatar
Dave McElderry
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4122
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Lost In Middle America

Re: Quicktime for Windows

Postby Steve Grisetti » Fri Apr 15, 2016 10:36 am

Quicktime is also an important codec pack for every video editor I know. I don't know how we'll edit video without it.
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13058
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Quicktime for Windows

Postby Bob » Fri Apr 15, 2016 11:45 am

Don't panic just yet. The vulnerabilities are in Quicktime, not the codec pack. You don't need to uninstall Quicktime and lose the codecs (which pretty much every Windows based NLE depends upon and some media players as well), you just need to not use the Quicktime player itself.

If you are using a file type that opens in Quicktime, I'd find a compatible player and change the file association to point to the other player.

The legacy Quicktime web plugin is no longer installed by default and will be removed if you have installed the latest Quicktime for Windows version.

Long term, something will need to be done about satisfying the need for the Quicktime codec pack. Guess we'll need to wait and see what happens.
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5851
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: Quicktime for Windows

Postby Steve Grisetti » Fri Apr 15, 2016 7:56 pm

That is extremely helpful advice, Bob!
3.6 ghz i7-7700 running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with 16 gigs RAM and a 2 terrabyte HD. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 13058
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Quicktime for Windows

Postby Kent Frost » Sat Apr 16, 2016 12:20 am

Meh, I can lose the player. Not so worried about that. That's the gall bladder of all the apps. You can cut it loose and it might take a little adjusting, but you'll survive. The only thing I play on it are MOV files.
Dell Studio XPS 8100, Intel Core i7 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 64-Bit Win7. Camera gear: 2x Canon 550D's, 1x Canon EOS 6D body, Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 & 17-50mm f2.8, Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 & 24-70mm f/2.8L, and two 420EX flashes.
User avatar
Kent Frost
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 2:48 pm

Re: Quicktime for Windows

Postby Dave McElderry » Sat Apr 16, 2016 2:50 am

Kent Frost wrote:Meh, I can lose the player. Not so worried about that. That's the gall bladder of all the apps. You can cut it loose and it might take a little adjusting, but you'll survive. The only thing I play on it are MOV files.

I agree, and VLC will play the MOVs.
Be yourself; everyone else is taken.

Studio XPS 435T, 2.93 GHz i7-940; Win 10-64; 24GB RAM; Samsung 512GB SSD (OS); two 1TB HDDs; GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1GB
User avatar
Dave McElderry
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 4122
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Lost In Middle America

Re: Quicktime for Windows

Postby Bob » Sat Apr 16, 2016 11:52 am

I also use VLC to play movs.

Here's the first comment from Adobe that I've seen regarding Quicktime. It only addresses the Professional level products (Premiere Pro, After Effects, etc.). Unsaid, but likely IMO, is it applies to just the CC versions. Nothing at all about the consumer level products which also require it. Stay tuned.
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5851
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA


Return to Water Cooler 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests