They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

External monitor recommendation

Talk about anything here.

External monitor recommendation

Postby Ron Hunter » Fri Jul 31, 2015 10:49 am

I am developing a "rig" for my new gimbal stabilizer and I would like to purchase a battery-powered field monitor to connect to my GH4. I'm just a hobbyist and I don't need features like focus peaking, zebras, or scopes. $300 is a hard limit but lower is preferred. :-D

Any recommendations? I read an article that suggested using a tablet as a field monitor, but I can't find a tablet with HDMI input.
Desktop: HPE-580T, i7-950 (3.07GHz), 16GB RAM, Win'7 64-bit Home Premium, PSE12/PRE12, Lightroom 5.
Laptop: MacBook Pro (retina), 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, Final Cut Pro X, Motion 5.
Cameras (in use): Panasonic GH4/Canon HFR400/Canon HV30, GoPro HD Hero2.
Ron Hunter
Super Contributor
Super Contributor

Re: External monitor recommendation

Postby _Paz_ » Fri Jul 31, 2015 11:52 am

I'm still thrilled with my Lilliput 7" Field monitor.

I have finally gotten it set up pretty well by copying Sidd's concept with different materials. I'm using a GoPro type (not brand) chest strap with a Gorrilla Pod adapter to a small ball head. That was top heavy so I added some strips of black fabric tape around and sewn onto the edges of the sun screen, with large hooks and eyes that attach to the vertical chest straps. Easy to get on and off and stable now. I'll take and post a pic later.

I just went to Amazon and searched and came up with a large selection of Lilliputs under your limit.

I use Peaking ALL THE TIME. YMMV. I have recently learned that I've developed cataracts. That explains a lot.

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_ ... ld+monitor