They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

How did you get started in video editing?

Talk about anything here.

How did you get started in video editing?

Postby Ron Hunter » Fri Jul 18, 2014 6:48 pm

I started playing with camcorders in 1990 but my first try at video editing came in 1999. I had a Digital8 camcorder and I had heard you could make movies on a computer, so I called Electronic Videoguys and ordered a Pinnacle FireWire capture card that came with something called Adobe Premiere 5.1. I asked the sales rep what the software was for and he said "So you can edit your clips." I asked "What does 'edit your clips' mean?" I had no idea what I was doing, but I read books and tutorials and finally learned how to drive the software.

I got tired of updating the pro version after a while so I switched to Premiere Elements when version 5 was released. I've been an Elements user ever since. Now I'm learning FCPX and will probably get Motion soon. So I guess I've been doing this for 14 years.

I've gone from a VHS camcorder, to a Digital8 camcorder, to a HDV miniDV tape camcorder, to an HDV camcorder with SD card, to a DSLR and a GoPro. Still have all of them in working order except the VHS camcorder.

I've never had a paid gig but I have made around 20 technical training videos for my company, all of which are on our YouTube channel. I've done one wedding (gratis) and some church stuff, but nothing for money; it is just a hobby for me.

What about you?
Desktop: HPE-580T, i7-950 (3.07GHz), 16GB RAM, Win'7 64-bit Home Premium, PSE12/PRE12, Lightroom 5.
Laptop: MacBook Pro (retina), 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, Final Cut Pro X, Motion 5.
Cameras (in use): Panasonic GH4/Canon HFR400/Canon HV30, GoPro HD Hero2.
Ron Hunter
Super Contributor
Super Contributor