It's here! Yet another Muvipix.com Guide by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guide to Premiere Elements 13!
 
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour (new)

time line edit?

Discussions concerning Premiere Elements version 1 - 4.
  • Site Support (Registered users do not see Ads)

time line edit?

Postby kr236rk » Thu Dec 10, 2009 11:18 pm

hi,

i have created a 3min 44second project in PE3 but when the cursor gets to the end of the project it just keeps on going - i've checked there's nothing hiding further down the timeline: how can i stop the cursor, the project flags up the 3'44" length of the piece but that time-cursor just keeps on sailing through :eek:

help appreciated :)

thanks
kr236rk
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 11:32 am

Re: time line edit?

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Dec 10, 2009 11:23 pm

Sounds like the work area bar extends beyond the end of the project.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory, 500GB Drive 7200rpm, Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit
2. Dell Precision 490; Dual Xeon 3.0 Dual Core Processors - 4 cores, 4gb of 533mhz DDR2 RAM.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 15652
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: time line edit?

Postby Steve Grisetti » Fri Dec 11, 2009 8:23 am

Here's an easy way to both set your Work Area Bar and see if there are hidden frames beyond the end of your project.

Select the timeline panel and press the \ key on your keyboard. This will automatically zoom the timeline to show your whole project. Then double-click on the Work Area Bar. The WAB will automatically size to the length of your project and will continue to automatically resize as you edit your piece.
3.2 ghz i5 quad core running Windows 7 64-bit with 8 gigs RAM and an nVidia GTX 570 graphics card; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX Mavericks and Boot Camp Windows 8.1 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 10520
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: time line edit?

Postby kr236rk » Fri Dec 11, 2009 12:13 pm

Steve Grisetti wrote:Here's an easy way to both set your Work Area Bar and see if there are hidden frames beyond the end of your project.

Select the timeline panel and press the \ key on your keyboard. This will automatically zoom the timeline to show your whole project. Then double-click on the Work Area Bar. The WAB will automatically size to the length of your project and will continue to automatically resize as you edit your piece.


Thanks Chuck & Steve,

after following the above instructions i did in fact notice a tiny fragment of edited video further down the timeline (odd cos i checked that last night) - anyway, deleting that and resetting the WAB has framed the project within its time parameter so, great, thanks! :)

R

ps. one thing giving me headaches is swopping a project around on moveable media: i am learning to edit a project on one drive only with all the back-up source files, until it is time to save the project to blank disc format :roll:
kr236rk
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 11:32 am

Re: time line edit?

Postby rusty » Fri Dec 11, 2009 12:55 pm

Thanks for that tip Steve. Just last weeked I was <deleting and closing gap> on large pieces of some clips on the Timeline and finding that the work area bar extended way past the end of the last clip, and I didn't know how to pull the end of it back. :-D
Russ
User avatar
rusty
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 4:18 pm
Location: North Vancouver, BC, Canada


Return to Prior Versions 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

  • Site Support (Registered users do not see Ads)