They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Align audio waveforms in PRE 10

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 10.

Align audio waveforms in PRE 10

Postby miwo76 » Mon Feb 27, 2012 12:23 pm

Hello,

I'm very new to video editing, I'm primarily a stills guy...

Having done some research, I decided that in my foray into video with a little Lumix GF2 that a secondary audio recorder would be a good way to capture better audio than with the built in mic. I have a H1 Zoom Recorder. I learned that by using a "clapper" - ie. clapping my hands in front of of the camera would allow me to have a reference point to sync the recorded audio from the H1 to the audio recorded on the camera.

My question is in PRE10 - what is the easiet way to align the audio waveform of the clap?

My method is basically dragging the video clip to the Timeline, seeing that the camera's audio becomes the Audio 1 track and then dragging the audio recording from the H1 zoom into the Audio 2 track.

Because I start the H1 recorder after I turn on the camera, the waveform of the Audio 2 track starts later then the Audio 1 track. This means I need to trim the beginning of the Audio 2 track to try and sync it to the video.

When I try to trim the Audio 2 track and I cannot get it align with the Audio 1 track waveform when I do the following: I go to the beginning of the Audio 2 track, hover over it and get the red square bracket and drag it to the right to trim the amount. I'm essentially guessing here how much to trim and wondering if there is a more accurate way of trimming the audio so I can match up my reference waveform.

Thanks for any help!
miwo76
New User
New User

Re: Align audio waveforms in PRE 10

Postby Steve Grisetti » Mon Feb 27, 2012 12:44 pm