They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Trim vs Time stretch events -- Novice help needed

Talk about the Sony Vegas line of products.

Trim vs Time stretch events -- Novice help needed

Postby downeym » Fri Apr 15, 2016 9:11 am

Hi everyone,

I just bought Steve's book and am brand new to this community. I am brand new at video editing and new to Movie Studio 13. Please bear with me.

When I split an event and want to stretch it, I have found that I don't want to slow it down (or speed it up) because of animations contained therein won't be at the proper speed. What I want to do is change an event but not change the very endpoint frames, if you take my meaning.

I am surprised to learn that when I trim (pull the end) of the event, there is more footage beyond the end of my "split" which shows up, as the event is stretched. I assumed that when I split an event it would cut off the footage beyond the split, but Movie studio doesn't work that way (or is there a setting to do this?) So what i have been doing is going to the very end of the event, and using the "Saving snapshot to file" to create a still picture. Then I seem to be able to stretch that individual still, to my heart's content.

Am I on the right track or is there a more elegant/faster method?

This is probably editing 101 to many of you so please be gentle! :)
downeym
New User
New User

Re: Trim vs Time stretch events -- Novice help needed

Postby Steve Grisetti » Fri Apr 15, 2016 10:34 am

If you split an event, you can move the two segments apart by making sure you've only got one clip select and drag it to the right. However, as you may have seen in the book, how events move, together or individually, is affected by the Auto Ripple settings. (See page 100 of the book.)