They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Codec Problem from a Newbie - Hello all!

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 9.

Codec Problem from a Newbie - Hello all!

Postby Ginaration » Sat Aug 27, 2011 2:53 pm

Hi there:

I am new to this arena but I'm sure hope that someone can help me. I have looked on the net, tried a couple of things, but I'm just not sure if the direction I'm taking is correct because nothing seems to be working.

Here's the scoop:

I was making simple slide show after downloading a trial version of Adobe PSE Elements 9. I want to learn about it because I enjoy fixing photos, photography, oh, I just about enjoy everything there is to learn in life...if I had enough time, I would. However, I completed my slideshow and was adding the audio mp3 file from my Windows PC. Well, after all of that, guess what? I receive an error message stating I don't have the codec(s) to install/decompressor/compress the file(s). So, no video! I tried compressing the file in preferences by right clikcing on the audio file as well as compressing it to a zip file, all to no avail. I also downloaded a Windows 7 codec pak but I have no idea what to do with it to get it into PSE. I even called Adobe, to no avail. Since I really don't know what I'm doing, I didn't want to take it any further just in case I was really headed down what was seemingly more unchartered territory. Now, I'm just totally confused and need some direction. Can someone please help me? I feel like I'm Lost In Space, smh and ::lol:: !

Thanks so much.