They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Very choppy video and I am a complete novice! HELP

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 9.

Very choppy video and I am a complete novice! HELP

Postby tkgosselin » Sun Jul 17, 2011 8:57 pm

I purchased PE 9 because the store clerk at staples said it would work with both my laptop and my camcorder for editing my youtube craft tutorial videos. I am so over my head and out a ton of money. I could do nothing with the software at first other than install it, that was ok. I bought "guide to adobe PE 9, and thank god it is so easy to read and I am getting the hang of getting the video into a new project, only problem, the video is super choppy. I have a DXG-5C8V Full HD 1920 -1080 pocket sized camcorder films avi files. (great camcorder by the way) I upload to PE with the usb cable that came with the camcorder. My laptop is about 4 years old 19" acer it runs windows Vista, I read to have at least 20% empty hard drive space which I have and have turned off Aero and the sidebar. But still it is so choppy I don't know how to being trying to learn to edit as I can't watch the video to see how I want to edit it. I can't afford a new laptop and I am out about $140 from the software and the book. I have an option on my camcorder to film at 720 instead of the 1080. Would that help or am I sol? Please won't one of you very nice people help me. I so want this to work and when I say I am a novice I mean the most editing I have done is with the youtube options. I know nothing!!!
Thanks Kelly (in over her head) Gosselin
tkgosselin
New User
New User

Re: Very choppy video and I am a complete novice! HELP

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Mon Jul 18, 2011 2:51 am

Hi Kelly and welcome to Muvipix. :wcm: