They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

New PC, moved PRE files over but timeline now empty

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 9.

New PC, moved PRE files over but timeline now empty

Postby 1horsemoviemiss » Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:55 am

Hello all, I’m glad I found this website & forum. There’s a heap of really good info & reading here & posts by people who are regularly using APE & PRE.

I have been using PRE9 for several months on my old XP single core, 2Gb ram, nVidia GEForce, yada yada you know the type! I never had a problem using WMM & could make quite complicated movies up to 30mins long with no problems. Then along came Premiere Elements 9 & it all went south.

I have just read a few threads here by people with the same problems so I know 2 things for sure.

1. I maybe didn’t have to go out last week & spend a LOT of money for the new PC (specs listed below).

2. The problem may have just been a combination of lack of working knowledge on my part along with expecting too much from the software. :roll:

I’m making a movie of my family’s recent trip to central Australia. I started making it on the old PC & ran into problems from the outset. The cameras used made HD photos & vids. So far I have cut it into 4x 19min movies but still had major problems of the timeline not being able to run freely & jerking along & out of sync, files taking several minutes to load, missing transitions, etc.

Then I decided it was the PC being too small to run the software along with the movie size & configuration. I spent 3wks optimizing the old PC to get it running better & thoroughly cleaned of malware & un-needed stuff but that hardly made a difference. So I checked some Photoshop forums to discover best specs for new PC & bought it last week.