They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

Advice for upgrading system

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 8.

Advice for upgrading system

Postby Hp61 » Mon Mar 08, 2010 1:44 pm

I first want to say that I love this community and tip my hat to all the members who have posted comments, question and advice.

I am new to video editing (but very keen) and own an AVCHD camcorder and Premiere Elements 8. My computer system needs to be updated and I have chosen to upgrade my system as opposed to staring from scratch.

Here is what I am starting with (BIOS and drivers are up to date):

CPU: AMD 64 3.0 GHz (dual core)
Motherboard: Asus M2N SLI Deluxe
Video Card: 2 - NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GT OC 256MB — SLI’d

What I am adding:

RAM: 8 gigs
Hardrive: 2 x 1 TB SATA (RAID O) and 500 gig SATA internal (or external through an eSATA)

My question is; do I really need a quad core processor (for AVCHD editing)?
And which operating system works best with PE8?

I am looking at XP (which I have) or Vista (my video cards are not windows 7 compatible). Would you recommend a 32 bit or 64 bit OS? Is there problems running this program on a 64 bit OS?

Any other comments would be welcome, and thanks to all for taking the time to respond.

Shawn
Hp61
New User
New User

Re: Advice for upgrading system

Postby Bob » Mon Mar 08, 2010 2:57 pm

Welcome Shawn!

I am looking at XP (which I have) or Vista (my video cards are not windows 7 compatible). Would you recommend a 32 bit or 64 bit OS? Is there problems running this program on a 64 bit OS?

You said you were adding 8GB RAM. You will need a 64 bit OS in order to use that much RAM. 32 bit systems can only address 4GB.