They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

"Interference" Pattern

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 8.

"Interference" Pattern

Postby Walter Seaton » Mon Oct 15, 2012 2:28 pm

I will have run through a series of clips several times while editing. No problems. I do it once more (perhaps to check what I have done with a previous scene) and suddenly any where between 1 an 4 clips are covered by the attached type of pattern. Because it is only so few frames I just delete them and the effect is not noticeable.

What causes this and can it be avoided?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
2.40 gigahertz Intel Core2 Quad Q6600; Windows 10 PRO 32 bit; 3GB RAM; Graphics ATI Radeon HD3800 Series; 2 ViewSonic VP2365 Monitors; 2 int. HDs: 1TB ("C "), 750 GB; 3 ext. HDs: 2x2TB and 1x3TB; Camera Panasonic PV-DV953D; Sound Files .wav.
Walter Seaton
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:06 am

Re: "Interference" Pattern

Postby Paul LS » Mon Oct 15, 2012 4:09 pm

Are you using mpeg/mpg clips? I used to get this with HDV MPEG2 and resolved it by running the clips through VideoRedo using Quickstream Fix. MPEG clips can give problems when editing... particuarly with older versions of Premiere Elements. If so it is better to convert to a more editor friendly format.
Paul LS
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 3064
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:21 am
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: "Interference" Pattern

Postby Chuck Engels » Mon Oct 15, 2012 6:32 pm

I think that this came up in the past, I'm going to do some searching and see what can be found.
What is the source Walter, what camera and how are you getting the video on to your computer?
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17383
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: "Interference" Pattern

Postby Walter Seaton » Tue Oct 16, 2012 5:43 pm

Several sources, but mainly from my Panasonic PV-DV953D which uses MiniDV Cassettes. Transfer to my PC is via a Panasonic-provided firewire cable. I connect the camera to my PC and then use PRE8 Get Media > DV Camcorder, followed by using the recording controls in PRE8.
2.40 gigahertz Intel Core2 Quad Q6600; Windows 10 PRO 32 bit; 3GB RAM; Graphics ATI Radeon HD3800 Series; 2 ViewSonic VP2365 Monitors; 2 int. HDs: 1TB ("C "), 750 GB; 3 ext. HDs: 2x2TB and 1x3TB; Camera Panasonic PV-DV953D; Sound Files .wav.
Walter Seaton
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:06 am

Re: "Interference" Pattern

Postby Paul LS » Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:28 am

There was a thread about Panasonic and DV clips giving such an issue... I think it was in the Adobe Premiere Elements forum from many year ago.
Paul LS
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 3064
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:21 am
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: "Interference" Pattern

Postby stanatou » Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:55 am

I don't have a solution for this issue but when I look at that bottom screen I keep thinking it would make a nice 16 X 20 print to hang on the wall. Granted, it wouldn't fit just any decor but I think it would look just fine in our lobby here at work. :)

Stan
User avatar
stanatou
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 2:51 pm
Location: Norman, Oklahoma

Re: "Interference" Pattern

Postby Chuck Engels » Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:11 am

I'm still looking for the solution. If I remember correctly it had something to do with the Firewire card or the cable and that it had happened to me at some point a few years ago. If I am not mistaken I replace the firewire card and the problem was solved, but I am still checking as I can't remember for sure exactly what happened.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17383
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: "Interference" Pattern

Postby Chuck Engels » Wed Oct 17, 2012 11:45 am

Walter,
When you play the same segment on the camcorder does it play without problems?
Also, can you try connecting the camcorder to a television and see if it still plays correctly.

Would you be willing to try capturing the problem segment with WinDV, it is a free capture program that works very well. It sometimes eliminates problems caused by the Premiere Elements capture process.
http://windv.mourek.cz/

This could be a problem with the capture software, camcorder tape head alignment, the Mini DV tape, the firewire connection, card, and/or the cable. Need to eliminate as many potential problems as possible.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17383
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: "Interference" Pattern

Postby Walter Seaton » Sat Oct 20, 2012 5:26 pm

I am sorry I was not more specific. The clips play without any interference on the Panasonic camcorder and transfer without any interference. The interference appears during the editing process after I have run a particular clip without previous problems several times, even when I have not made any changes (effects, contrast, brightness etc) to the clip.
2.40 gigahertz Intel Core2 Quad Q6600; Windows 10 PRO 32 bit; 3GB RAM; Graphics ATI Radeon HD3800 Series; 2 ViewSonic VP2365 Monitors; 2 int. HDs: 1TB ("C "), 750 GB; 3 ext. HDs: 2x2TB and 1x3TB; Camera Panasonic PV-DV953D; Sound Files .wav.
Walter Seaton
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:06 am

Re: "Interference" Pattern

Postby Bob » Sat Oct 20, 2012 5:48 pm

These are captured DV-AVI files -- Right?

When you get this pattern, is it only apparent in the PRE 8 monitor? Or, if you were to export it, does it also show up in the exported file?

Does this happen with any other application?
User avatar
Bob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 5682
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:49 am
Location: Southern California, USA

Re: "Interference" Pattern

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Sun Oct 21, 2012 1:09 am

I had something similar some while ago - in fact so long ago the circumstances are a little vague now. :???: but all was OK on the finished DVD.

Do you have a re-writable DVD that you could use to write a small DVD video segment to to see if it disappears on output?
i7 6700k, Z170-P mobo, Win7 64 bit, 32Gb RAM, SanDisk 240GB SSD, WD 150GB Raptor, LG BD Burner, 1Gb nVidia GTS250, Akasa card reader, Antec P183 case. Samsung 19" TFT 1280 x 1024, Sony HVR-A1, Synology DS412+ 8GB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3788
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Carini, Sicily

Re: "Interference" Pattern

Postby Walter Seaton » Mon Oct 22, 2012 7:57 am

I have always cut the offending patterns - I have never tried to burn them to a DVD. I will try that shortly and report back
2.40 gigahertz Intel Core2 Quad Q6600; Windows 10 PRO 32 bit; 3GB RAM; Graphics ATI Radeon HD3800 Series; 2 ViewSonic VP2365 Monitors; 2 int. HDs: 1TB ("C "), 750 GB; 3 ext. HDs: 2x2TB and 1x3TB; Camera Panasonic PV-DV953D; Sound Files .wav.
Walter Seaton
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:06 am

Re: "Interference" Pattern

Postby Walter Seaton » Fri Nov 02, 2012 9:31 am

I have waited until I had a large number of patterns (also some audio drop outs) on my current project as viewed on my monitor and then burned it to a DVD without first trying to make any corrections. SURPRISE!!!! There were no patterns on the DVD (good quality images) and the sound was AOK. I must therefore have some bug in my system, which I will in future ignore, since it is the quality of the finished DVD is what is important to me.

Again, thank you for all your help/suggestions.
2.40 gigahertz Intel Core2 Quad Q6600; Windows 10 PRO 32 bit; 3GB RAM; Graphics ATI Radeon HD3800 Series; 2 ViewSonic VP2365 Monitors; 2 int. HDs: 1TB ("C "), 750 GB; 3 ext. HDs: 2x2TB and 1x3TB; Camera Panasonic PV-DV953D; Sound Files .wav.
Walter Seaton
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:06 am

Re: "Interference" Pattern

Postby Chuck Engels » Fri Nov 02, 2012 12:10 pm

:TU: Great to hear Walter !!
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17383
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA


Return to PRE Version 8 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron