They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

multiple copies of a burned PE8 project

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 8.

multiple copies of a burned PE8 project

Postby Berger100 » Fri Mar 30, 2012 3:05 pm

HI
I'm a newbie. Just made a great dvd for my kids swim team season with some video, pics, and music. Basically a nice slide show.

I want to make multiple copies and give them to a bunch of folks. I do not want to burn 20 copies on my computer for fear of overheating or wearing out my burner. (if thats possible to break it, I dont know and dont want to find out )

I went to my local Walgreens. They only burn pics to a disc and mine has video. Plus my slide show wont work on their format anyway i guess.

My question is, does anyone know how to make copies cheaply?
My friend offered to use her burner but said she could not copy the dvd. My second question is, can somebody at home not use their burner to copy a PE8 dvd. DO you need PE8 to copy a PE8 burned project? Why wouldnt it copy on her home computer ?

I hope I explained this clearly.

Berger
Berger100
New User
New User

Re: multiple copies of a burned PE8 project

Postby Steve Grisetti » Fri Mar 30, 2012 3:51 pm

You won't burn out your DVD burner (particularly since you don't actually burn anything -- it's just a laser causing a chemical reaction). It takes years to wear out a DVD burner -- and most likely you'll have replaced the rest of your computer by then. But, even if you do need to replace it, doing so will cost about as much as you'll spend paying a service to duplicate your discs for you!

The smartest thing is to select the option to output your DVD files to a Folder rather than burn directly to a disc. This will save your finalized DVD files to your computer's hard drive.