They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Mouse and Timeline

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 8.

Mouse and Timeline

Postby Walter Seaton » Wed Jan 18, 2012 9:35 am

After a major computer crash I had to re-install PRE8. When I had previously used it, I could move the timeline backwards and forwards by using the mouse wheel. Since re-installing this no longer works; how can I reset this to work (I can't find the setting option).

Thank you.
2.40 gigahertz Intel Core2 Quad Q6600; Windows 10 PRO 32 bit; 3GB RAM; Graphics ATI Radeon HD3800 Series; 2 ViewSonic VP2365 Monitors; 2 int. HDs: 1TB ("C "), 750 GB; 3 ext. HDs: 2x2TB and 1x3TB; Camera Panasonic PV-DV953D; Sound Files .wav.
Walter Seaton
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:06 am

Re: Mouse and Timeline

Postby Steve Grisetti » Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:44 am

I'd first look for an updated driver for your roller mouse.

You can also try going to your Device Manager and deleting the mouse driver completely. With a minute or so the computer will automatically install a fresh driver -- just in case the old one corrupted somehow.
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12649
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Mouse and Timeline

Postby Walter Seaton » Wed Jan 18, 2012 9:55 pm

Thank you, Steve. My mouse is a Microsoft Laser Mouse 7000 and all my MS software is updated continuously. The mouse wheel behaves properly in MS applications (tilting moves the screen left or right, rolling moves it up or down and pressing on the wheel allows you to move the screen in any direction). When I tried to find the solution on my own in PRE8 I was directed to the keyboard preferences menu, but that does not seem to deal with the mouse.
Again, many thanks for your help.
2.40 gigahertz Intel Core2 Quad Q6600; Windows 10 PRO 32 bit; 3GB RAM; Graphics ATI Radeon HD3800 Series; 2 ViewSonic VP2365 Monitors; 2 int. HDs: 1TB ("C "), 750 GB; 3 ext. HDs: 2x2TB and 1x3TB; Camera Panasonic PV-DV953D; Sound Files .wav.
Walter Seaton
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:06 am


Return to PRE Version 8 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest