They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Returning split clips to project view

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 8.

Returning split clips to project view

Postby Walter Seaton » Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:50 pm

I often have a clip which I want to split into several parts and use these parts in different points of the project. However, after splitting the clip and renaming the parts I do not know how to return the separate parts to project view for subsequent assembly into the final project.

Your help in letting me know how to do this will be appreciated.

Thank you.
2.40 gigahertz Intel Core2 Quad Q6600; Windows 10 PRO 32 bit; 3GB RAM; Graphics ATI Radeon HD3800 Series; 2 ViewSonic VP2365 Monitors; 2 int. HDs: 1TB ("C "), 750 GB; 3 ext. HDs: 2x2TB and 1x3TB; Camera Panasonic PV-DV953D; Sound Files .wav.
Walter Seaton
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:06 am

Re: Returning split clips to project view

Postby RJ Johnston » Mon Oct 03, 2011 3:13 am

Hi Walter.

Double-click on the video's thumbnail in Project view or on a clip on the timeline which in turn opens the video in a mini-preview window. Move the in and out-points to define a sub-clip. Then drag back to the Project view. You should get a message about creating a sub-clip.

You have to drag from the mini-preview window and drop in Project view, not the Organizer view.
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 2965
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Returning split clips to project view

Postby Chuck Engels » Tue Oct 04, 2011 8:35 am

Take a look at the Version 7 tutorial on Trimming Clips, it will explain what Robert is saying in detail.
http://muvipix.com/products.php?searchp ... =0&btn.y=0
Title: Trimming Clips (PRE7)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17383
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Returning split clips to project view

Postby Walter Seaton » Tue Oct 04, 2011 5:28 pm

Thank you both - but it does not seem to work in Pre8.
In the demo the Project View (which I think he refers to as the Media Panel) is in Edit - in Pre8 it is in Organize.
In the demo, when the hand is dragged to the Media Panel (Project View?) it becomes a black arrow and the message appears. In Pre8 the hand becomes a circle with a line through it and the message does not appear - in fact, nothing happens.I have tried to drag to Project View List View and Icon View as well as the Media Panel (icon to the right of "Get Media") but no result anywhere.
I am sure it must be possible in Pre8 also - but how?
2.40 gigahertz Intel Core2 Quad Q6600; Windows 10 PRO 32 bit; 3GB RAM; Graphics ATI Radeon HD3800 Series; 2 ViewSonic VP2365 Monitors; 2 int. HDs: 1TB ("C "), 750 GB; 3 ext. HDs: 2x2TB and 1x3TB; Camera Panasonic PV-DV953D; Sound Files .wav.
Walter Seaton
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:06 am

Re: Returning split clips to project view

Postby RJ Johnston » Wed Oct 05, 2011 2:19 am

While I don't have version 8 installed anymore, in Version 9, I couldn't double-click on a clip on the timeline and then drag back from the mini-preview window to the Project list. So that's not possible as I had thought. Sorry about that. If you double-click on a clip in the Project list, that will open up the mini-preview monitor. Then you need to set the in and out points before you can drag back to the Project list. If you don't move either the in-point or out-point marker, you'll see a "no can do" icon when you drag back to the Project list.
User avatar
RJ Johnston
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 2965
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:33 pm
Location: Northern California, USA

Re: Returning split clips to project view

Postby Chuck Engels » Wed Oct 05, 2011 8:47 am

Walter, be sure you are on the Project tab and not the Organize tab (pretty sure that's what version 8's media panel was like. In Version 8 the organizer was linked to the media panel, that isn't the case anymore. I don't think there were that many differences between version 7 and 8, please watch the tutorial again and take careful note of what tab I am on. Double clicking on the clip in the media panel should open the clip monitor where you can set the in and out points, it has been that way from the beginning of the software ;)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17383
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Returning split clips to project view

Postby Walter Seaton » Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:22 pm

I am embarrassed. I have been doing exactly what you recommended, which did not work, so I thought I would send you a screen shot. Guess what? In the process of setting up the screen shot, doing exactly what I have done previously (following your advice!) and it suddenly worked. I have no idea what is different this time but now I am on my way.

Thank you very much and again my regrets for screwing up somewhere.

Walter
2.40 gigahertz Intel Core2 Quad Q6600; Windows 10 PRO 32 bit; 3GB RAM; Graphics ATI Radeon HD3800 Series; 2 ViewSonic VP2365 Monitors; 2 int. HDs: 1TB ("C "), 750 GB; 3 ext. HDs: 2x2TB and 1x3TB; Camera Panasonic PV-DV953D; Sound Files .wav.
Walter Seaton
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 10:06 am

Re: Returning split clips to project view

Postby Chuck Engels » Wed Oct 05, 2011 6:57 pm

No problem Walter, always glad to give you a helping hand :)
Good to know you got it working, happy editing !!
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17383
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA


Return to PRE Version 8 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest