They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

ProShow vs Premiere for slideshows

Standard, Gold & Producer. Talk with our experts about this great slideshow creating software.

Re: ProShow vs Premiere for slideshows

Postby VernonRobinson » Wed Jul 22, 2009 11:29 pm

Henry111 wrote:Vernon, how do I say thank you? I cannot count the ways.
I mean, like I got it.
My head has stopped spinning those questions.
I hope that someday I will have sufficient knowledge that I do will be helpful to some other newbie like me.
By the way, I just completed my first slideshow and uploaded it to photodex. I am not sure I am allowed to post the link, but I'll give it a shot.
Criticisms from anyone will be sincerely appreciated.
http://www.photodex.com/sharing/viewsho ... 7674&alb=0



Henry,
See my critique on the Enthusiasts forum.

For those who may watch Henry's show and are not part of the Enthusiast forum, I will repost part of it here.

1. I would put where else to view the show at the end. In this way people can visit at their leisure.

2. I would break the long captions into shorter ones. Each paragraph being a little larger and each projected slowly over multiple slides added to the time line.

I would do something like put a shot of the ship taking one half of the screen and the caption on the right half. Then use 3 slides to show the entire cpations.

3. I am not sure what Pravado is, but Bravado I understand.

4.The shot of the child and the caption. I would zoom the slide of the child, but not so large as to interfere with the caption area. Hard to read the caption with part of it in black and part of it overlapping the picture. Just move the picture a little more left and use a smidge less zoom.

5. Picture of the boy with the caption underneath. You had been using captions to the left. I would probably stay with it. Also, the caption is being overlapped by the picture.

6. Slides of the boy and father also of the Pirate. It is ok to have the picture come on the screen and not be in constant motion. In this case I think it would add strength and also allow people to read the captions.

7. Fort Pirates/Jolly Roger. The text flies in from off screen making it hard to read. If you do this then consider a movement from Right to Left instead of what you have from Left to right. Makes it easier to read. I would recommend just putting the caption in place. No fly in.

8. Pirate Garret slide. I would change the volume so that the canon blast does not cause the volume to dip. In Slide/Slide Options/Sounds/Sound Effets - Set the "override soundtrack during this slide" to (100%). I would also adjust the fade in/out to make the sound a little less abrupt. Maybe 0.3 seconds.

9. Use the "Copy Start To End" to prevent your pictures from jumping at the end of the zoom. For example, order to sink the Dirigio and the cute lady pirate.


10 Spelling, Spelling, Spelling. Remember, this is representing you to your clients. eg. wreaking havoc, Honchos,




-Vernon
VernonRobinson
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 6:03 am

Re: ProShow vs Premiere for slideshows

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Jul 23, 2009 9:52 am

Excellent critique Vernon.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17328
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: ProShow vs Premiere for slideshows

Postby VernonRobinson » Thu Jul 23, 2009 10:13 am

Chuck,
Thanks. Now I am being kidded about being the spelling police. Who da thunk it? :)
VernonRobinson
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 6:03 am

Re: ProShow vs Premiere for slideshows

Postby Bob D » Thu Jul 23, 2009 2:46 pm

Don't worry, I think Monitor is misspelled in the beginning too.

Bob
Gateway DX4860 i5-2300 2.80GHz; 6GB Ram; Windows 7 Home 64-bit; 1.5 TB C-Drive, 150G F-Drive(video)
User avatar
Bob D
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 564
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 6:00 pm
Location: Arlington Heights, IL

Re: ProShow vs Premiere for slideshows

Postby John 'twosheds' McDonald » Fri Jul 24, 2009 1:51 am

It is so easy to overlook spelling errors, typos, bad grammar, repeated words etc in one's own work, the moreso when edits and re-edits have been made as the text is 'honed and polished'.

It is always better to have someone proof-read (IMHO) :???: (in my case, Mrs Twosheds!)
i7 6700k, Z170-P mobo, Win7 64 bit, 32Gb RAM, SanDisk 240GB SSD, WD 150GB Raptor, LG BD Burner, 1Gb nVidia GTS250, Akasa card reader, Antec P183 case. Samsung 19" TFT 1280 x 1024, Sony HVR-A1, Synology DS412+ 8GB NAS, Adobe CS6.
User avatar
John 'twosheds' McDonald
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3769
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Carini, Sicily

Re: ProShow vs Premiere for slideshows

Postby Henry111 » Mon Aug 03, 2009 10:16 pm

Vernon, all of the changes that you suggested have been made, especially the spelling.
Your advice led to a much, much improved slideshow, one that now even I am proud of, so much so that
I put it on YouTube. At YouTube a search for "Belmont Pirates" will lead to it.
Thank you so much.
And Vernon, as for your being kidded about being a spelling policeman? Keep the faith!
Henry111
Registered User
Registered User
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 8:23 pm

Re: ProShow vs Premiere for slideshows

Postby VernonRobinson » Mon Aug 03, 2009 10:47 pm

Henry,
Glad we could be of some assistance. As Steve Grisetti once told me, "tell your story boldly".

Regards,
-Vernon
VernonRobinson
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 6:03 am

Re: ProShow vs Premiere for slideshows

Postby Steve Grisetti » Tue Aug 04, 2009 7:19 am

:-D
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12513
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Previous

Return to ProShow Series Software 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron