They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Remote Support

Talk about computer software/hardware problems, related to digital video or otherwise.

Remote Support

Postby Ron » Sun Mar 14, 2010 10:53 am

I found some cool software that will allow remote connections to other computers that's extremely easy to use - you simply launch an executable (no install of software required), exchange security credentials and you're in, connected to their desktop as if you were there. I've used other remote software before, but the ones I've dealt with (gotomypc, radmin, etc) have, at the very least, some setup and firewall/router configuration issues. So, this is great even for the absolute computer novice.

http://teamviewer.com

I really think it could come in handy for some of our support here, real-time tutorials (multiple users), exchanging files... the list goes on.

And the very best part - FREE!
Regards,
-Ron

Dell, Win10 Pro, Intel Core i7-6700 CPU @3.4GhHz, 8GB ram. 64-bit
User avatar
Ron
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3136
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 8:57 am
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Remote Support

Postby Steve Grisetti » Sun Mar 14, 2010 5:17 pm

Great find, Ron!
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12512
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Remote Support

Postby TreeTopsRanch » Fri Jan 14, 2011 8:03 pm

Not easy to find the FREE one. It seems to cost over $700.00 US.
If you have a free version, what extras do you get for the $700.00?
User avatar
TreeTopsRanch
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 761
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 6:57 pm

Re: Remote Support

Postby Chuck Engels » Fri Jan 14, 2011 8:12 pm

We used TeamViewer at work for awhile, have now switched to Mikogo and CrossLoop.
This is for support outside of our network where we use UltraVNC.
Mikogo also has a MAC version, http://mikogo.com
http://www.crossloop.com/
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17325
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Remote Support

Postby momoffduty » Fri Jan 14, 2011 9:24 pm

I've used TeamViewer with my Tech guy. Easier than unplugging everything and taking it to him.
aka Cheryl
Intel i7 3770, Windows 7 Pro w/SP1, 64 bit, Intel 520 Series SSD, 32G RAM, 2 – 2T RAID, (1T external), GTX 550 Ti graphics
User avatar
momoffduty
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 6985
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:43 am
Location: near St. Louis

Re: Remote Support

Postby Ron » Sat Jan 15, 2011 7:07 am

TreeTopsRanch wrote:Not easy to find the FREE one. It seems to cost over $700.00 US.
If you have a free version, what extras do you get for the $700.00?

The program is free unless it's for commercial use (not sure if there's a paid version and free version per-se).

I haven't dug deep, but I can't find anything that's missing in the free version. It really does work out-of-the-box.
Regards,
-Ron

Dell, Win10 Pro, Intel Core i7-6700 CPU @3.4GhHz, 8GB ram. 64-bit
User avatar
Ron
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3136
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 8:57 am
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Remote Support

Postby Chuck Engels » Sat Jan 15, 2011 10:13 am

Mikogo and CrossLoop are also free.

TeamViewer is free and they also have a paid version. If you use it too much they send you a nasty note telling you that you are using the product for commercial use and they ban you from using it anymore. Not sure how they know but doesn't work on my computer anymore. We were just evaluating it for our company and didn't really abuse it as we only used it to support 6 Windows 7 machines.

Anyway, there is lots of good remote support software out there these days.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17325
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Remote Support

Postby Ron » Sat Jan 15, 2011 1:41 pm

Chuck Engels wrote:If you use it too much they send you a nasty note telling you that you are using the product for commercial use and they ban you from using it anymore. Not sure how they know but doesn't work on my computer anymore.

Hm, good to know.
Regards,
-Ron

Dell, Win10 Pro, Intel Core i7-6700 CPU @3.4GhHz, 8GB ram. 64-bit
User avatar
Ron
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3136
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 8:57 am
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Remote Support

Postby tjodork » Mon Jan 17, 2011 8:22 am

another good one is LogMeIn (www.logmein.com)...you do have to have the person you are going to connect to run a program which then runs at startup. You can disable it if you want and reeanble when you want someone to connect to but since you still have to have a password I keep enabled.
My parents and kids use it and I can easily connect to their system and help them with issues. They don't even have to be at their computer. I use it a lot to connect to my home computer while I'm at work. One other nice thing is that I can connect to my daughters Apple MacBook pro.
The paid version allows you to send files and I think pass sound but the Free version is amazing.
If I have to transfer files I use skype.
p.s. if you try make sure to download the free version....they are a litle sneaky about in the process of choosing which version switching you to a paid version, although you can tell it you want the free version without uninstalling.
User avatar
tjodork
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 489
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 8:45 am
Location: Rochester,MN

Re: Remote Support

Postby Chuck Engels » Mon Jan 17, 2011 11:09 am

I have a few friends that use logmein and have purchased the paid version and love it.
All of the software above require two people to access the machines, if you want something that doesn't require two people you can go with UltraVNC.

With VNC you have a service running on the machine you want to connect to and a password set in the configuration.
Then you just access the server part from a client on another machine, pretty simple. I just set this up a few weeks ago for testing but disabled it after I successfully connected. It is not very secure, even with the password, if you are on a wireless network which I am. Beside that you have to configure the wireless security to let the VNC access through to the computer on the network that you have the Service running on, that is where the security issues come in. It did work great however and we use VNC (there are a few different brands, like UltraVNC and others) at work for remote support on all of our XP machines. It is supposed to work with Windows 7 but we have not found a configuration yet that actually does work, still in the process of trying to figure that out. That is why we are using some of these others in the meantime.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17325
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Remote Support

Postby tjodork » Mon Jan 17, 2011 9:22 pm

FYI..we use tightvnc servers at work on our windows 7 PCs....and connect to them with our old realvnc viewer
User avatar
tjodork
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 489
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 8:45 am
Location: Rochester,MN

Re: Remote Support

Postby Chuck Engels » Tue Feb 15, 2011 5:35 pm

Thought I had posted a thank you TJ, TightVNC works great, I am a hero in I.T. for coming up with a solution.
Of course I gave you and Muvipix the credit :)
I really appreciate the help, this forum is simply amazing !!
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17325
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Remote Support

Postby TreeTopsRanch » Mon May 15, 2017 12:23 pm

TightVNC appears to be from Russia so beware. Not saying there's a problem but just to make you aware since a lot of hackers originate from Russian controlled countries.

Just noticed that this is a really old post. I looked at the date (today) and thought it was a new post. Sorry about resurrecting a old post.
User avatar
TreeTopsRanch
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
 
Posts: 761
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 6:57 pm

Re: Remote Support

Postby Chuck Engels » Mon May 15, 2017 8:50 pm

Well that was 6 years ago Tree Tops, things may have changed a bit since then :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17325
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Remote Support

Postby Chuck Engels » Mon May 15, 2017 8:51 pm

Not a problem really, fun to remember some of the old stuff once in a while. Haven't used TightVNC since Skype and GoToMeeting became so easy and cheap to use.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17325
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA


Return to Computer Issues 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests