They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2024
As well as The Muvipix.com Guide to CyberLink PowerDirector 21
Because there are stories to tell
muvipix.com

The Case of the Disappearing Software

Talk about computer software/hardware problems, related to digital video or otherwise.

The Case of the Disappearing Software

Postby George Tyndall » Thu Jun 08, 2017 2:42 pm

I've been using Kensington Expert Mouses for many years.

Kensintgon.JPG

I currently have one for each of my 4-year-old HP Win7 desktops. Until recently, they worked flawlessly. But now, on one of the two desktops, neither is detected.

I used RollbackRX Pro to roll all the way back to the Installation Snapshot that RRXP created when I installed it--and when everything was working well. That did not fix the problem, thereby ruling out the possibility that any changes that I've made to my system following that date are the cause of the problem.

Changing ports accomplished nothing with the one internal HDD--but upon switching to my recent backup of this drive I get the following result: each time the cursor freezes, the problem can be resolved--temporarily--by switching to another USB port. I can work for perhaps a half-hour before needing to switch ports. This did not work with the one drive--instead, upon switching I got a message that the driver did not load.

Uninstalling the original TrackballMouseworks v. 1.0.1 program, to allow the device could be operated by what the Kensington rep called "a generic Windows driver" and then restarting resulted in the device still not being detected.

"Does ordinary mouse work?" he asks. Answer: Yes.

Of interest: Both devices work perfectly with the two Win7 Pro laptops that I recently purchased and which have not experienced any Win7 updates since purchase.