They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Well I'm scratching my head..

Talk about computer software/hardware problems, related to digital video or otherwise.

Re: Well I'm scratching my head..

Postby BuddyB » Tue Jan 10, 2017 1:36 pm

Am trying to check now..thanks chuck. And ZOWIE! This turntable is not compatible with Win10. Now, the question is should I go back to 7? I see a restore option in the Control Panel. The only thing is I'm concerned about a disaster going back. The guy said he didn't have an ETA for a fix...... :ha: :mad:
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 849
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Re: Well I'm scratching my head..

Postby BuddyB » Tue Jan 10, 2017 11:35 pm

Oh well..the guy at Sony said the turntable is not compatible with Win10. So I have a left/right audio out, I'm going to see if I can plug in to the sound card, set the switch to Phono and see if I can get a sound that way.
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 849
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Re: Well I'm scratching my head..

Postby Chuck Engels » Wed Jan 11, 2017 2:49 pm

Keep the switch set to line, unless you run the turntable through a preamp. It should have its own preamp so just setting the switch to Line should do the trick. Set to Phono it is expecting that you run the turntable through an amp of some kind, not the case with your PC's sound card. You can get a RCA to 1/8" adapter and plug the RCA cable from your turntable into one end and the 1/8" into the Line In jack on your sound card, that will work (I've done this myself and it works fine).
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17328
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Well I'm scratching my head..

Postby Chuck Engels » Wed Jan 11, 2017 2:51 pm

From the Audio Technica website but applies to all similar applications no matter what brand of equipment.

Setup #1: When you plug the turntable’s analog (RCA) connectors into an input on a stereo receiver labeled “PHONO,” you will want to disengage the turntable’s internal RIAA preamp. A PHONO input on a stereo receiver has its own RIAA preamp, so there’s no need for the turntable to supply one. Set the PHONO/LINE switch to PHONO.

Setup #2: When you plug the turntable’s analog (RCA) connector into any other input on a stereo receiver (Aux, CD, tape, etc.) or directly into powered speakers, you will need to engage the turntable’s RIAA preamp. These inputs are for line-level signals, so the turntable needs to supply the required preamplification. Set the PHONO/LINE to LINE.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17328
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Well I'm scratching my head..

Postby BuddyB » Wed Jan 11, 2017 4:57 pm

Thanks Chuck, just got the 1/8" this A.M.; am working with it now. Will let you know..

..after much fiddling, different selections something is wrong. I've selected the line in in the record section and Sound Blaster Audigy 5/Rx is shown as unavailable. And, I don't see a way of making it available. The 1/8" pin is snugly into the connection and still I get nothing..grr. So, I guess that means the device is really not compatible with Win10/64.
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 849
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Re: Well I'm scratching my head..

Postby BuddyB » Thu Jan 12, 2017 10:43 am

Well Hallelujah! It works. What I had to do to get it to work was update my Sound Blaster Audigy Rx/5 driver, etc. from Creative. Now this is the stereo 1/8" pin plug connection; don't know if the USB will work, but if I can record to the computer I could care less. The quality is good and I'm a happy camper :YY: .

Also, in Wavepad I've discovered that you do not have to mute the speakers to record "What You Hear" which is what I have with my Creative Audigy sound card. Don't have a clue with other sound cards and apps.
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 849
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Re: Well I'm scratching my head..

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:37 am

So glad you found success Buddy !! Now go out and have a great day :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17328
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Well I'm scratching my head..

Postby BuddyB » Thu Jan 12, 2017 1:26 pm

Thanks Chuck, notice my PS, a couple of issues have been resolved.
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 849
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Re: Well I'm scratching my head..

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Jan 12, 2017 7:39 pm

I really like Audacity a whole lot more than Wavepad, you might want to give it a try sometime :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17328
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Well I'm scratching my head..

Postby BuddyB » Fri Jan 13, 2017 10:50 am

I had been using Audacity, but the problems with it, thinking it was a Win10/64 issue, dirty recording, changing speed, just not good quality. As a result of Audio Studio not functioning period and that I went looking for something that might work with 10. It dawned on me, I deleted Audacity and went to the site and downloaded a fresh version..voila it's beautiful. Apparently the old one had gotten corrupted some way. I will use Audacity. My thanks for your patience and input..later gator. :tup:
"Wichitaito-Everything is Everything"
ASUS M4A88T-M mb-AthlonII X 3 455 1.5 Cache-8GB DDR3-1600-PC3-12800(2X4GB Dual Channel)-1TB SATA3 6gb/sec 7200rpm(64MB Cache) Win10 64Bit-Sony Movie Studio Suite 13-XaraX photo/Art/Web Adobe Cloud.
User avatar
BuddyB
Premiere Member
Premiere Member
 
Posts: 849
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:44 pm

Re: Well I'm scratching my head..

Postby Chuck Engels » Fri Jan 13, 2017 11:26 am

Glad you got the Audacity issue figured out, I have never had any problems with it at all and use it often. Have a great weekend Buddy !! Next time you come through Atlanta give me a shout. Are you still up in the Nashville area? Plan on being up that way (East Side near The Hermitage) sometime this year. Maybe we can get together for lunch or something.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17328
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Previous

Return to Computer Issues 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests